Christina/ February 25, 2019/ Culture

The second stage of the cloister hiking path leads us from Ilsenburg to Wöltingerode. Next to the wonderful nature a lot to history-charged places are to be discovered. First of all there is the former cloister Ilsenburg. Alongside the “Green ribbon” (the former inner German border) we come across the “Jungborn” and the former forester’s lodge “Eckerkrug”. In the “Schimmerwald” we learn on the one hand that vegetarian restaurants also existed in the 19th century. On the other hand, we read, GDR-commanders even suspended that elderly people in rest homes have a high flight risk. We encounter the reminiscence of the forester’s lodge Schimmerwald. At the “Mühlendorf” we meet a very history-assiduous and nice landowner. Finally we are crossing the bridge of unity. Passing the place Lochtum we reach Wiedelah. There we take a quick look at the scenic located castle before we go back to Vienenburg.

Ora et labora

We start our tour having wonderful weather at the train station in Ilsenburg. First of all we take a good look around the small town. At the country hotel and restaurant “Rothe Forelle” we enjoy the sundaily calm at the adjacent lake. Slowly we move towards the castle and the cloister. We have an appointment at 10:30 a.m. for a guided tour through the monastery. Unfortunately, the guide does not show up. Therefore we have to explore the place on our own. Whereas I can recommend the sightseeing itself I cannot recommend the guide.
The monastery is a former Benedictine cloister in Romanesque style. It has been built between 1003 and 1018. The church that belongs to the monastery (it is being restored at the moment) was built in 1087. Unfortunately both, the monastery and the church, are partly destroyed. Still it is possible to get an idea what the place might have looked like in the old days. The computer simulation which can be used in the small refectory is a big help. The cloister is surrounded by a beautiful parkway. Unfortunately we do not have the time to explore it. However, we are sure to return for a second visit, particularly because of the “Café im Schloss” with its homemade cakes.

Nude all day long

We leave the place and walk back to the marketplace. Passing by the trout lake we hike along the Kastanienallee until we reach the Eckertal. Pacing through bosky compound we reach the former forest’s lodge “Eckerkrug”. There we experience our first historical surprise of the day. First of all it is a shame that this wonderful forester’s lodge does not exist anymore. The building fell a victim to the demarcation. The erected presentation boards make clear how beautiful the place must have been. However the actual sensation is that the first natural sanatorium of Germany was the “Jungborn”. Established by Alfred Just in the year 1896 themed “light, air, loam and water” a nudism facility of a special kind was brought to life. Not only the vegetarian food was special at that time. No, for recreation one stayed either in the “ladies’ park” or “gentlemen’s park” during the day – naked. It’s no wonder that the idea spread around the world quickly. Patients from all over the world pilgrimaged to “Jungborn”. Among the followers were famous people like Marika Röck and Franz Kafka.

Nowadays next to the signs “ladies’ park” and “gentlemen’s park” two lovingly and true-to-detail constructed “light and air small houses” invite you for a break.

Forester’s lodge Schimmerwald

We continue alongside the Ecker and reach the village Eckertal. At this place the inner German boundary has been opened on 11.11.1989 – right after Berlin. We follow the river (it is 26 km long) towards Abbenrode. We walk along the Schimmerwald, an old beech forest with very high trees. We make another discovery. Between Abbenrode and Lochtum lies the “Mühlendorf” (mill village). Close to the village we reach a memorial and an information-board evocative of the former hunting lodge of 1757, the vegetarian recreation home forest lodge Lange Altfeld Abbenrode and the forester’s lodge Schimmerwald. Unfortunately the place was vandalized. Curious and amazed we read about the forest’s lodge history whose owner was disseized by the Russians in 1945. The forest lodge became then a rest home. However, it was shut down in GDR-times due to the fear that the inhabitants might flee to Western Germany. Finally the place decayed.

Napoleon and Wallenstein

On the former military road, upon which Napoleon and Wallenstein used to ride, we discover a beautiful manor on the left hand side. By chance, the owner spots us and we get into a conversation. He tells us that the portray of Wilhelm I. was put on the façade due to the emperor’s coronation in 1871 at Versailles. We also talk about the relationship between duke Anton Ulrich and the Austrian empress Maria Theresia (well nobility stayed amongst themselves at that time), the historical line of the border between the kingdom of Prussia and the dukedom of Brunswieck (today Saxony-Anhalt and Lower Saxony). The owner also tells us about the once projected shooting of the manor and its idyllic ambience. Still, they did not take place in the end. The family was afraid that the place could become a second “Glottertal”.

The bridge of unity

The way from the “mill village” towards Wiedelah leads us over the bridge of unity (opening of the border on 27.1.1990). From there we turn right into a dirt road. We pass by the “Vienenburger Steakhouse” and walk under the highway 395 in order to reach Wiedelah. We are surprised to see another idyllic castle. Unfortunately it cannot be visited, it has been converted into a residential building. We continue to follow the signs of the cloister hiking trail and turn right to Vienenburg. Our hiking tour ends at the Vienenburg train-station. With a coffee respectively a hot wine on the go we enjoy the last sunbeams of the day. Happy and satisfied we adjourn back to Brunswieck.

My résumé: A hiking tour with the impact of a fountain of youth!

Summary of the tour:
Length: 18 km – walking time: approx. 4 hours (w/o breaks and sightseeing) – altitude: 213 m up and 290 m down.

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Februar 25, 2019/ Kultur

Die zweite Etappe des Klosterwanderwegs führt uns von Ilsenburg nach Wöltingerode. Neben der herrlichen Natur am Wegesrand gibt es allerlei Geschichtsträchtiges zu entdecken. Da ist zunächst das Kloster Ilsenburg. Entlang des Grünen Bandes (der ehemaligen innerdeutschen Grenze) entdecken wir den Jungborn und das ehemalige Forsthaus Eckerkrug. Im Schimmerwald erfahren wir zum einen, dass es vegetarische Restaurants bereits im 19. Jahrhundert gab. Zum anderen, so lesen wir, bestand nach Meinung der DDR-Oberen auch bei Senioren im Altersheim noch Fluchtgefahr. Wir begegnen der Reminiszenz des Forsthaus Schimmerwald. Im Mühlendorf machen wir Bekanntschaft mit einem sehr geschichtsbeflissenen und netten Gutsbesitzer. Schließlich passieren wir dort die Brücke der Einheit. An dem Ort Lochtum vorbei erreichen wir Wiedelah. Dort werfen wir noch einen Blick auf die malerisch gelegene Burg, bevor wir nach Vienenburg zurückkehren.

Ora et labora

Wir starten unsere Tour bei himmlischem Wetter am Bahnhof von Ilsenburg. Zunächst schauen wir uns ein wenig in dem pittoresken Kleinstädtchen um. An dem Landhotel und Restaurant „Rothe Forelle“ genießen wir am angrenzenden Teich für einen Moment die sonntägliche Ruhe. Langsam gehen wir Richtung Kloster und Schloss. Für 10:30 Uhr sind wir zu einer Klosterführung verabredet. Leider versetzt uns unser Gästeführer jedoch, sodass wir das Kloster schließlich auf eigene Faust erkunden. Schade. Während die Besichtigung des Geländes also zu empfehlen ist, kann ich das von der Klosterführungsorganisation leider nicht behaupten.
Beim Kloster Ilsenburg handelt es sich um ein ehemaliges Benediktinerkloster im romanischen Baustil. Es wurde zwischen 1003 und 1018 errichtet. Die zum Kloster gehörende Kirche (wird gerade restauriert) wurde 1087 erbaut. Leider sind Klosterkirche und Klausur nicht mehr in Gänze erhalten. Trotzdem kann man sich noch ein sehr gutes Bild davon machen, wie das Gelände wohl im ursprünglichen Zustand einmal ausgesehen haben mag. Unterstützend wirkt dabei die Computersimulation, die wir uns im kleinen Refektorium anschauen. Das Kloster ist von einer wunderschönen Parkanlage umgehen. Leider fehlt uns die Zeit, diese zu erkunden. Einen zweiten Besuch jedoch können wir uns sehr gut vorstellen, zumal im Innenhof das „Café im Schloss“ mit selbstgebackenem Kuchen lockt.

Den ganzen Tag nackig

Wir verlassen das Klostergelände und gehen zum Marktplatz zurück. Vorbei am Forellenteich gehen wir die Kastanienallee entlang, bis wir zum Eckertal kommen. Durch waldiges Gelände erreichen wir das ehemalige Forsthaus Eckerkrug. Dort erleben wir unsere erste historische Überraschung. Zunächst ist es eine Schande, dass es dieses herrliche Forsthaus mit Gartenlokal nicht mehr gibt. Mit der Grenzziehung wurde das Kleinod abgerissen. Die aufgestellten Schautafeln lassen erkennen, wie schön es dort einst gewesen sein muss. Die eigentliche Sensation ist aber, dass die erste Naturheilstätte Deutschlands am Jungborn gewesen ist. Gegründet von Alfred Just im Jahre 1896 unter dem Motto der vier Elemente „Licht, Luft, Lehm und Wasser“ entstand eine Freikörpereinrichtung der besonderen Art. Nicht nur, dass dort bereits vegetarisches Essen serviert wurde. Zur Erholung hielt man sich tagsüber je nach Geschlecht im „Damen- oder Herrenpark“ völlig unbekleidet auf. Kein Wunder, dass sich diese Heilkunst schnell herumsprach und Gäste aus der ganzen Welt zum Jungborn pilgerten. Unter ihnen so prominente Namen wir Marika Röck und Franz Kafka.
An die damalige Zeit erinnern nunmehr neben den Schildern „Damenpark“ und „Herrenpark“ zwei liebevoll und detailgetreu gestaltete Licht-Luft-Häuschen, die zur Rast einladen.

Forsthaus Schimmerwald

Wir wandern weiter entlang der Ecker und erreichen zunächst das Örtchen Eckertal. Hier wurde am 11.11.1989 nach Berlin erstmals die innerdeutsche Grenze geöffnet. Wir folgen weiterhin dem Lauf der Ecker (einem 26 km langen Zufluss der Oker) in Richtung Abbenrode. Wir laufen am Schimmelwald entlang, einem alten Buchenwald mit sehr hohen Bäumen. Dort machen wir unsere nächste Entdeckung. Zwischen Abbenrode und Lochtum liegt das „Mühlendorf“. Kurz vorher erreichen wir jedoch ein Denkmal und eine Info-Tafel, die an das ehemalige Domkapitularische Jagdhaus von 1757 erinnern, das vegetarische (!) Erholungsheim Waldhaus Lange Altfeld Abbenrode und das Forsthaus Schimmerwald. Leider waren mal wieder Vandalen am Werk und haben die Info-Tafel beschädigt. Neugierig und verblüfft lesen wir die Geschichte des Waldhauses nach, dessen Besitzer 1945 von den Russen enteignet wurde. Das Waldhaus war dann zunächst ein Altenheim, wurde in DDR-Zeiten dann allerdings geschlossen, weil angeblich Fluchtgefahr bestand (?). Leider ist das ehemalige Erholungsheim dann verfallen.

Napoleon und Wallenstein

Auf der ehemaligen Heerstraße, auf der auch Napoleon und Wallenstein einst ritten, entdecken wir linker Hand ein wunderschönes Gutshaus. Zufällig sieht uns der Besitzer, wir kommen ins Gespräch. Er erzählt uns, dass das Konterfeit von Wilhelm I. anlässlich seiner Krönung in Versailles 1871 in die Fassade des Hauses eingelassen wurde. Wir sprechen noch kurz über die Verwandtschaft Herzog Anton Ulrichs mit der österreichischen Kaiserin Maria Theresia (der Adel ist damals halt unter sich geblieben) und dem historischen Grenzverlauf zwischen dem Königreich Preußen und dem Herzogtum Braunschweig (heute Sachsen-Anhalt und Niedersachsen). Der Eigentümer berichtet auch von den einmal geplanten Dreharbeiten über den Gutshof und dessen idyllisches Ambiente. Diese sind dann aber nicht zustande gekommen. Die Familie befürchtete ein zweites Glottertal, vermutlich zu Recht.

Die Brücke der Einheit

Der Weg vom „Mühlendorf“ Richtung Wiedelah führt uns über die Brücke der Einheit (Grenzöffnung am 27.1.1990). Dort biegen wir scharf rechts auf einen Feldweg ein. Vorbei am „Vienenburger Steakhouse“ gehen wir unter der Autobahn 395 hindurch und erreichen schließlich Wiedelah. Von der idyllisch gelegenen Burg sind wir sehr überrascht. Leider lässt sich diese nicht besichtigen, sie wurde zu einem Wohnhaus umfunktioniert. Wir folgen weiterhin dem Klosterwanderweg und biegen rechts Richtung Vienenburg ab. Am Bahnhof von Vienenburg endet unsere Wanderung. Mit einem Kaffee bzw. Glühwein „auf die Faust“ genießen wir die letzten Sonnenstrahlen. Glücklich und zufrieden begeben wir uns auf die Heimreise.

Mein Fazit: Eine Wanderung mit der Wirkung eines Jungbrunnens!

Zusammenfassung:
Streckenlänge: 18 km – Gehzeit: ca. 4 Stunden (ohne Pausen, ohne Besichtigungen) – Höhenmeter: 213 hoch, 290 runter.

Share
Share this Post