Christina/ November 3, 2009/ Culture

We are used to oddities from the Gulf States – not the other way round. An article from the political magazine Spiegel online about wealth in the Gulf States made me google. The so called “Saudi Rich List” of the magazine “Arabian Business” made me curious and some fortune hunters may pay some extra attention right now.

Let us take a look into the Forbes List of the richest people of the world and we might come to the conclusion that the list does not keep its promise. Names like “Gates, Buffet and Slim” are on top of the list. Is that news?
Far wrong, because the real news is this one: Begging letters to rich Arabs! There are letters like the one from a Manchester City Fans who asks for money for his club. Another example is the begging letter of two Indians who made a film and now aim to make it known.
How can such dreams can come true? Just follow this directions: Send your Dream and, insh’Allah, your dream will become a reality: RichArab@hotmail.com. Unfortunately the site’s operator forgot to – an imprint. I would have loved to ask him how many dreams did come true by now.

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ November 3, 2009/ Kultur

Kuriositäten sind wir normalerweise von den Golfstaaten gewohnt – nicht anders herum. Ein Bericht von Spiegel Online über den Reichtum am Golf ließ mich googeln. Die sogenannte „Saudi Rich List“ des Magazins „Arabian Business“macht erstmal neugierig und läßt so manche Mitgiftjägerin hellhörig werden.

Werfen wir dann jedoch einen Blick auf die Forbes Liste der reichsten Leute der Welt, stellen wir ganz schnell fest, dass die zunächst so spektakulär klingende Liste der reichsten Saudi Araber nicht das hält, was sie verspricht. Die bekannten Namen „Gates, Buffet und Slim“ schmücken mal wieder die vorderen Plätze. Also, am Golf nichts Neues?

Weit gefehlt. Denn die wirkliche Nachricht ist diese hier: Bettelbriefe an Rich Arabs! Da gibt es Briefe, wie die eines Manchester City Fans, der um Geld für seinen Verein bittet. Oder das offene Bittschreiben von zwei Indern, die einen Film gedreht haben und diesen nun bekannt machen möchten.

Und wie diese Träume wahr werden sollen? Einfach dieser Anleitung folgen: Send your Dream and, insh’Allah, your dream will become a reality: RichArab@hotmail.com. Leider hat der Betreiber der Seite vergessen ein Impressum anzugeben. Gerne hätten wir nachgefragt, ob die ersten Träume in Erfüllung gegangen sind!

Zum Weiterlesen:

Share
Share this Post