Christina/ July 3, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

Until yesterday night I had the firm conviction that Rumpelstiltskin originated from the brain of the Brothers Grimm. Yesterday evening, however, I was taught a lesson on the German/French TV channel “arte”. De facto, Rumpelstiltskin can also be found in the Arabic World. Where? It is hard to believe, but for instance you can find it at the “Middle East Championships” in Jordan. Representated by the Saudi-Arabian royal stud “Al-Mohammadia” or at least its deputies. How that? The stud is represented on the championships by its best horses. Accompanied by one of the numerous princes of Saudi Arabia. This one, like the rest of the immense rich and spoiled cohort of princes most probably, does not like to be a loser.

A little side note: According to an article I have read just recently – deriving from the Arab World – the 6.000 princes of the Saudi-Arabien royal house have some 275 000 Dollar per month at their disposal. Who would not turn megalomanic or at least arrogant by that? Here comes some little advice for the desert sons: I remember that especially memorable scene from the Hollywood peplum “Quo vadis”. One of the famous generals returns to Rome. In his honour a triumphal procession through the city is organised. Riding a chariot a servant is standing behind him holding a golden laurel wreath above his head, repeating the same words: “Do not forget you are just a man”.

Let us get back to my little story and the championships. What has happened? The Royal Jordanian stud beat the Saudia-Arabian one and the prince lost his sportsmanship. A good sportsman should cut a good figure even if he is losing. Rather the representatives of the Saudi stud left the championships prior to the award ceremony together with the prince.

Given the quite infantile behaviour one like to hand over a little bucket and a little shovel to the “poor” prince so that he can build a little castle in his quite sizeable sandbox – called Saudi Arabia – back there. “Try to grow up” that is the advice one like to call out to him and the likes of him – at least in public. I really wonder why the male representatives of the royal house do almost everything to case-harden their bad reputation in public? Is it because a bad reputation is also binding?

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Juli 3, 2011/ Philosophisches

Bisher bin ich der festen Überzeugung gewesen, dass Rumpelstilzchen den Gehirnen der Gebrüder Grimm entsprungen ist. Gestern abend wurde ich auf „arte“ eines besseren belehrt. Tatsächlich ist Rumpelstilzchen ebenso in der Arabischen Welt zu finden. Wo? Kaum zu glauben, aber man trifft es zum Beispiel bei den „Middle East Championships“ in Jordanien. In Form der Vertreter des saudischen Königsgestüt Al-Mohammadia tritt es dort auf. Wie das? Der Stall ist bei den Championsships mit seinem besten Pferden vertreten. Begleitet von einem der zahlreichen saudischen Prinzen. Dieser mag, wie wahrscheinlich der Rest der unermeßlich reichen und verwöhnten Prinzenschar, gar nicht gerne verlieren.

Kleine Randbemerkung: Einem kürzlichen Bericht zufolge – aus der arabischen Welt stammend – stehen den 6.000 Prinzen des saudischen Königshauses pro Monat ca. 275 000 Dollar zur Verfügung. Wer würde da nicht größenwahnsinning oder zumindest überheblich werden? Hier eine kleine Metapher für die Wüstensöhne: Ich erinnere mich an eine besonders einprägsame Szene aus dem Hollywood-Schinken „Quo vadis“. Einer der ruhmreichen Feldherren kehrte nach Rom zurück. Zu seinen Ehren wurde ein Siegeszug durch die Stadt organisiert. Während er im Streitwagen die Parade abfuhr, stand ein Diener hinter ihm, hielt einen goldenen Lorbeerkranz über sein Haupt und sprach unaufhörlich die Worte: „Vergiss nicht, du bist nur ein Mensch“.

Zurück zu unserer kleinen Geschichte und den Meisterschaften. Was war also passiert? Der königlich-jordanische Zuchtstall schlägt den saudi-arabischen und der Prinz verliert seinen Sportsgeist. Ein guter Sportler sollte auch eine gute Figur machen, wenn er mal verliert. Stattdessen verlassen die Vertreter des saudischen Gestüts samt Prinz jedoch die Meisterschaften noch vor der Siegerehrung.

Angesichts des doch recht infantilen Verhaltens, möchte man dem „armen“ Prinzen Eimerchen und Schäufelchen in die Hand drücken, damit er sich zum Burgen bauen in seinen doch recht ansehlichen Sandkasten – namens Saudi Arabien -zurück ziehen kann. „Werdet doch endlich erwachsen“ möchte man ihm und seinesgleichen zurufen, zumindestens in der Öffentlichkeit. Was ich mich jedoch wirklich frage ist Folgendes: Warum nur tut die männliche Vertretung des Königshauses wirklich alles, um ihren schlechten Ruf in der Öffentlichkeit zu zementieren? Weil auch ein schlechter Ruf verpflichtet?

Share
Share this Post