Christina/ July 31, 2010/ Ideas of philosophy

This story is pure Arabian Nights Entertainment. It seems to be endless and is always told from a different angle: The possible addition of Turkey into the EU (European Union). Also, the news report on 3Sat (a German TV station), “Between Orient and Euro-Cent” (Video, Länge 28 min.) acts on that “never-ending-story”.

It is again meant to portray how progressive the city of Istanbul is and that Istanbul matches up with metropolises of this world – Tokyo, Berlin and New York are given as comparisons -. Still, a stale aftertaste of justification remains. Although the matter should be closed with the achievement of a position with the world’s top 20 cities.

Is it because of the never ending headscarf debate? Is it due to the drift apart of different political perceptions regarding the “Kurds” or is it the fear of the “most exclusive club of the world” (Europe) to expand its frontiers to so called rogue nations like Iraq and Syria?

Possibly a too long indecision of the EU or a prolonged play along of Turkey could result in an unintentional backfire. Already these days the most educated Turks emigrate from Germany back to their parent’s home country or just stay in Turkey as demonstrated in the Turkish car industry (Tofas). That is why we should pose the question now and not only at the Cologne carnival: “Shall we let them in..?”

Further reading and listening:

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Juli 31, 2010/ Philosophisches

Diese Geschichte erzählt 1001-Nacht. Sie scheint unendlich zu sein und wird immer wieder neu erzählt: Die mögliche Aufnahme der Türkei in die EU. Auch der Beitrag, gesendet auf 3Sat, „Zwischen Orient und Euro-Cent“ (Video, Länge 28 min.) greift diese „never-ending-story“ auf.

Es geht wieder darum darzustellen, wie fortschrittlich doch Istanbul sei und dass sich die Stadt am Bosporus mit den Metropolen dieser Welt – Tokio, Berlin und New York werden als Beispiele genannt – messen könne. Es bleibt der schale Nachgeschmack der Rechtfertigung. Dabei sollte die Beweisführung mit der Erlangung einer Position innerhalb der Top 20-Städte der Welt, abgeschlossen sein.

Ist es die nicht enden wollende Kopftuchdebatte? Ist es das Auseinanderdriften der politischen Vorstellungen, was z.B. die „Kurdenfrage“ betrifft oder ist es die Angst des exklusivsten Clubs der Welt (Europa) seine Grenzen an sogenannte Schurkenstaaten wie den Irak oder Syrien auszuweiten?

Möglicherweise könnte ein zulanges Zaudern der EU oder Hinhalten der Türkei zu einem Schuss werden, der nach hinten losgeht. Denn bereits wandern die gebildeten Türken zurück in die Heimat Ihrer Eltern oder bleiben am Beispiel der AutoinduWollen wir se reinlasse..strie, z.B. Tofas, gleich bei sich zuhause. Drum stellt sich die Frage und das nicht nur zum Karneval: „Wolle mer se reinlasse..?“

Zum Weiterlesen und -hören:

Share
Share this Post