Christina/ June 11, 2012/ Culture

Last year I reported from Fashon-Mekka Munich, by detecting shopaholic Arabs coming obviously from the rich Gulf-states. In the meantime it seems that the caravan moved on – to nearby Austria. Tom y absolute surprise I spotted them now in swanky Zell am See and Salzburg as well as at the Krimmler Waterfalls.

On the way I noticed the expression “Fremdenzimmer” on some boarding houses. A term that I have not seen for a long time. Interestingly, the English, for example, do not seem to have this expression. “Fremdenzimmer” can only be translated with “Guest room”. Lately, I came across the following sentence matching the meaning of “Fremdenzimmer”: “The stranger can be constructed as an enemy or as an exotic secret. This ambiguity reflects the etymological relation of the Latin terms hostis (stranger/enemy) and hospes (stranger/guest)”.

Therefore, is it the stranger as an enemy or the stranger as a guest who is being offered a room? Is the stranger, not matter where he comes to, a guest? Later on, the “Fremdenzimmer” became a guest room but it is however worth it to think about the kind of word composition which might not be originated by chance. Does it express distrust?

It is worth to look into the origin of the word “Fremdenzimmers” in Wikipedia. It is noteworthy that the term seems to exist only in Germany and in Austria. Switzerland, who is also partly German-speaking, does not use the expression. Almost nostalgic the newspaper „Zeit“ explained in an article that the word Fremdenzimmer “is an endangered species“. The times when guest room was still titled as Fremdenzimmer must be ranked among the pre-globals times as Martin Hecht knows: “The joyous promise of the global project lies in the freedom of a bondless-independent existence, in the coolness to wrest of an own method of identification, to find roots and a hold in the state of eternal rise. At the same time, however, it also means the experience of a loss not to be able to feel alienated during this search and not to experience strangeness at its best: in it unknowns, unexplored and untamness.”

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Juni 11, 2012/ Kultur

Im letzten Jahr berichtete ich vom Mode-Mekka München, in dem ich shoppingbegeisterte Golf-Araber aufspürte. Jetzt scheint mir die Karawane weitergezogen zu sein. Zu meiner völligen Überraschung traf ich sie nun im mondänen Zell am See, in Salzburg oder an den Krimmler Wasserfällen.

Unterwegs fiel mir auch der Begriff „Fremdenzimmer“ auf. Ein Terminus, den ich lange nicht mehr gesehen hatte. Interessanterweise ist er ins Englische auch nur mit „Guest room“, also Gästezimer, zu übersetzen. Passend zu dem Begriff bin ich auf folgenden Satz gestossen: „Der Fremde kann als Feind oder als exotisches Geheimnis konstruiert werden. Diese Janusköpfigkeit spiegelt sich auch in der etymologischen Verwandtschaft der lateinischen Begriffe hostis (Fremder/Feind) und hospes (Fremder/Gast)“.

Wird also dem Fremden als Feind oder dem Fremden als Exot ein Zimmer angeboten? Ist der Fremde nicht erstmal Gast, egal wo er hinkommt? Später ist der Begriff Fremdenzimmer wohl dem Gästezimmer gewichen, aber es lohnt sich sicher einmal über die Wahl dieser Wortzusammensetzung nachzudenken, die wohl nicht zufällig gewählt ist. Drückt sie Misstrauen aus?

Zur Entstehung des „Fremdenzimmers“ ist Folgendes Wikipedia nachzulesen. Interessant, es gibt und gab den gesuchten Begriff also nur in Deutschland und Österreich, in der Schweiz ist er nicht gebräuchlich. Fast nostalgisch ergänzt die „Zeit“ in einem Bericht über denselben Begriff, dass das Wort Fremdenzimmer „vom Aussterben bedroht sei„. Die Zeiten, als das Gästezimmer noch Fremdenzimmer hieß, muss man wohl den vor-globalen Zeiten zurechnen, wie Martin Hecht weiß: „Das freudvolle Versprechen des Projekts der Globalität liegt in der Freiheit einer bindungslos-unabhängigen Existenzweise, in der Coolness, ihr selbst eine eigene Identifikationsweise abzuringen, Wurzeln und Halt im Stadium des ewigen Aufbruchs zu finden. Es bedeutet aber auch die Verlusterfahrung, sich auf dieser Suche nicht einmal mehr fremd fühlen zu können und Fremdheit nicht mehr zu erleben, wo sie ihre schönsten Seiten hatte: im Unbekannten, Unerforschten, Ungezähmten.“

Share
Share this Post