Christina/ June 6, 2010/ Culture

They are back: Four girl friends from downtown Manhattan, New York, the “Concrete Jungle” that Alicia Keys sings about in her soundtrack “Empire State of Mind” accompanying the movie. It comes back when the soundtrack starts: the comforting “Sex and the City”-feeling that made grey tueday nights bright blue. It comes back but it does not remain for long.

Just in time bevor the second part hit the cinemas across the world, a well-known German TV station that one has shown the series, repeated the first episode of “Sex and the City, the movie”.

Just three days prior to my visit at the box officde, Spiegel Online came up with the film critics: “Pop-Propaganda in the desert sand (German language only“. Oh ha, that headline made me read attentively. I really took the ladies coming from the city “where dreams are made” to my heart but inappropriate exposure of Arab cultural values could not be tolerated.

And then cam the day, the day of truth. One question remaind unanswered right from the start: “where are the lights, that are going to inspire me?” The longsome sequences of a gay marriage at the beginning of the film who’s protagonists were irrelevant for the movie’s plot were just irritating. But then came Abu Dhabi – even though it was filmed in Morocco – but at least the Emirates Palace was shown from the outside where the four ladies resided thanks to Samantha’s brilliant PR-contacts. And then it got started! One stereotye about the Arabs followed the other: A first class luxury trip, Maybachs for all, personal butlers from India, prudish Arabs unable to cope with Samanthas everlasting sex drive. Finally the coxed four fall from favour and have to break off their holiday ahead of schedule. But not without taking up the cudgels on behalf of the “pitiable, suppressed and vailed” Arabic women, wearing Haute Couture under their Hidschab, longing desperately for a trip to the city, “that inspires you”.

Too bad that a reunion yearned for turned out to be a big disappointment. What remains is a very nice soundtrack from a terrific R’n’B-star: enjoy it!

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Juni 6, 2010/ Kultur

Sie sind zurück: Die vier Freundinnen aus Downtown Manhattan, New York, dem „Concrete Jungle“, den Alicia Keys in Ihrem Soundtrack „Empire State of Mind“ zum Film besingt. Wenn der Soundtrack erklingt kommt es zurück, das alte „Sex and the City“-Gefühl, das auch graue Dienstag abend erhellt hatte. Es kommt zurück, aber leider bleibt es nicht.

Noch schnell hatte ein bekannter deutscher Sender, der seinerzeit auch die Serie ausgestrahlt hatte, den ersten Teil von „Sex and the City, der Film“ in einer Wiederholung gezeigt. Gerade noch rechtzeitig vor dem Kinostart des langersehnten zweiten Teils.

Vor dem Weg ins Kino hatte ich noch die Kritik zum Film auf den Seiten von Spiegel Online gelesen. „Pop-Propaganda im Wüstensand“ hieß es da. Oh ha, das ließ mich aufhorchen. So lieb ich die vier Damen aus der City „where dreams are made“ auch gewonnen hatte, einen ungemäßen Umgang mit der arabischen Kultur würde ich nicht tolerieren können.

Und dann kam er, der Tag der Wahrheit. Eine Frage blieb gleich am Anfang offen „where are the lights, that are going to inspire me?“ Die ausgedehnte Schwulenhochzeit am Anfang des Filmes, dessen Protagonisten für den Rest der Filmhandlung irrelevant waren, irritierte bereits. Aber dann ging es nach Abu Dhabi – also gedreht wurde in Marokko – aber immerhin war mal das Emirates Palace zu sehen, in dem die vier Damen, dank Samanthas hervorragenden PR-Kontakten, logieren durften. Und dann ging es los! Ein Klischee reihte sich an das nächste: Ein Luxusflug erster Klasse, Maybachs für alle, eigene Buttler aus Indien, prüde Araber, die mit dem immerwährenden Geschlechtstrieb von Samantha nicht zurecht kommen. Letztendlich fällt der Damen-Vierer somit in Ungnade und muss den Urlaub vorzeitig abrechen. Nicht ohne aber vorher noch eine Lanze für die „arme, arabische, ganzkörperverschleierte“ Araberin zu brechen, die unter dem Hidschab natürlich Haute Couture trägt und nichts anderes möchte als in die City, „that inspires you“ zu reisen.

Wie schade, dass aus einem herbeigesehnten Wiedersehen eine herbe Enttäuschung wurde. Übrig bleibt ein schöner Soundtrack einer grandiosen R’n’B-Künstlerin: genießen!

Share
Share this Post