Christina/ July 14, 2010/ Culture

For decades efficient Turks have shown us how to do it – the „good“ business with national dishes: the legendary “Döner Kebab”.

Whereas the money-focused American had reached mastership by now the German tries to achieve his certificate of apprenticeship: The production and sales of „halal food”.

Halal (in Turkish helal) is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. According to a definition of INFANCA the term is only used in relation to food products, meat products, cosmetics, personal care products, pharmaceuticals, food ingredients, and food contact materials.

The opposite of „halal“(permitted) is „haram“ (prohibited). Haram thereby describes food and the like, which are prohibited according to Islamic rules. A typical example for that would be porc meat or alcohol.

Food which ingredients are questionable are called „mashbooh“. Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin are mashbooh, because the origin of these ingredients is not known. Gelatin, essential part of the colourful „bears“ which were advertised for by some well-known blond-haired moderator for so long. Then, the producer, who already sold his popular nibbles so effectively in Turkey (using gelatin made from beef instead of porc) came across „Ethno-Marketing” and thus the “Turks right in his backyard”(we are talking about 2,6 Mio. people here). Also other producers “jumped on the bandwagon“, maybe even earlier than the Germans. Producers from the Netherlands, such as „Mekkafood“ have been successful in this field for years.

What’s remarkable though is the fact that companies such as Maggi & Co. have been selling their products (especially bouillon cubes) for years in Turkey and the Arabic World. This leads us to the question: “Why did it take German producers so long to discover this group as a target group in Germany?” Did they expect the fast integration, even when it comes to eating habits? Well, let’s be honest to ourself. Isn’t it that “German Bakeries” all over the world are very popular with expats? So, why shouldn’t the same phenomena appeal to Muslims in Germany?

Finally one discovered: The controversial discussion about what Islam stands for and what it does not stand for is worth a lot of money and circulation. Or is there anybody out there who still believes that newspapers and magazines really do care about women’s rights in the Arabic World? Business people care about money and profit. Interestingly enough the so called „ethnic economy“ has been doing that for years: flushing money into the German public purse.

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Juli 14, 2010/ Kultur

Jahrzehntelang hat es uns der geschäftstüchtige Türke vorgemacht – das gute Geschäft mit der einheimischen Spezialität: dem Döner Kebab.

Wo es der kapitalverliebte Ami bereits zur Meisterschaft gebracht hätte, versucht der Deutsche nun seinen Gesellenbrief zu machen: Die Herstellung und der Vertrieb von „halal“ Lebensmitteln

Der arabische Begriff „halal“ (im türkische helal) bedeutet in der Übersetzung „gesetzeskonform“ (mit dem islamischen Recht) oder auch „erlaubt“. Nach einer Definition der INFANCA wird das Wort „halal“ nur im Zusammenhang mit Lebensmitteln, Kosmetika, Hygieneartikeln, Pharmazeutika und Inhaltsstoffen für die Lebensmittelproduktion als auch Stoffen, die mit Lebensmitteln in Berührung kommen, benutzt.

Das Gegenteil von „halal“(erlaubt) ist „haram“ (verboten). Haram bezeichnet dementsprechend Lebensmittel u.ä., die nach der islamischen Lebensweise nicht erlaubt ist. Ein klassisches Beispiel wäre Schweinefleich oder Alkohol.

Lebensmittel, deren Inhaltsstoffe zweifelhaft sind, werden als „mashbooh“ (fragwürdig) bezeichnet. Mashbooh ist z.B. Gelatine, Hauptbestandteil der bunten Bärchen, für die einst ein blondgelockter Moderator so innig Werbung machte. Dann entdeckte der Hersteller, der bereits erfolgreich seine beliebte Nascherei in der Türkei verkaufte und hier die Schweinegelatine durch die Rindervariante ersetzt hatte, das Ethno-Marketing und damit den „Türken vor der Haustür“ (immerhin 2,6 Mio. Menschen). Auf den Zug sprangen noch andere auf, wahrscheinlich sogar vorher, wie z.B. der niederländische Lebensmittelkonzern Mekkafood.

Eine Anmerkung sei hier erlaubt: interessanterweise sind Maggi & Co. bereits seit Jahren in der Türkei oder im arabischen Ausland erhältlich (in erster Linie der beliebte Hühnerbrühwürfel). Stellt sich die Frage, warum man in Deutschland so lange gebraucht hat, um diese Zielgruppe als Konsumentengruppe zu entdecken? Hatte man die schnelle Integration, auch bei den Eßgewohnheiten, geglaubt? Aus eigener Erfahrung kann ich jedoch sagen, dass jeder, der sich einmal längere Zeit im Ausland aufhielt für essbare Produkte aus seiner Heimat fast „alles“ tun würde, warum also auch nicht der Muslim in Deutschland?

Schließlich hat man erkannt: Mit dem Islam lässt sich Geld verdienen und Auflage schinden. Oder glaubt das draußen noch jemand, dass der Sternredaktion die Frauenrechte in der arabischen Welt wirklich wichtig sind? Dabei bringt die so genannte „ethnische Ökonomie“ schon seit Jahren Geld in das deutsche Staatssäckel.

Share
Share this Post