Yearly Archives: 2011

For personal reasons

Christina/ December 12, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

You might have noticed that the Middle East Messenger kept quiet somehow during the recent weeks. No new posts. The last one was dated November 4th, 2011 – on my birthday. One day before my birthday my father was taken to the hospital. Once again. But this time it was different. Unfortunately, he did not survive this stay in hospital.

Read More

Share

Azulejos

Christina/ November 4, 2011/ Culture

Under the name Azulejo one understands a mosaic made of quadratic, colourful painted and ceramic tile, that has its origin in Spain and Portugal and it thus made there. These weather-proof tiles are an integral part in the cityscape of those countries and are applied to public buildings, monuments, facades and churches, but also as decoration for walls. Often old

Read More

Share

Prix Pictet: to die or to freeze?

Christina/ November 4, 2011/ Culture

Upon a visit to the Botanical Garden of Madrid I came across a very interesting exhibition resp. prize by chance: the Swiss made Prix Pictet. According to the foundation’s website, the prize “has a unique mandate – to use the power of photography to communicate vital messages to a global audience. The goal is to uncover art of the highest

Read More

Share

Volvo Ocean Race: Team Abu Dhabi scores

Christina/ November 2, 2011/ Culture

Team Abu Dhabi could achieve a customed prelude at the “In-Port Racing” in Alicante. The race of October, 29th, 2011 marked the beginning of the “Volvo Ocean Race 2011-2012“. Many enthusiastic spectators watched the exciting sailing duel on the Mediterranean when the “black falcon” of Abu Dhabi emanated as the winner from the race. Elegantly and sovereignly Team Abu Dhabi

Read More

Share

Confusion

Christina/ October 22, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

In these days there is so much going on that one does not really know how to asses the whole thing: Gaddafi is dead, the Americans withdraw their troops from the Iraq, the Iran is was accused of attempted murder on the saudi-arabian ambassador to the US, in Europe and the States people protest against the power of banks and

Read More

Share

Changes

Christina/ September 26, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

On friday the Berliner Compagnie premiered the play “Things are as bad as they look” at the Brunswieck Brunsviga. The play, subtitled “climatic disaster with music” is not only about the construction of a coal-burning power plant or more precisely about the legal hindrance of the same, but also about the destiny of a refugee. The refugee Ibrahim, who dared

Read More

Share

Unveiled?

Christina/ September 18, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

The question why people do what they do never goes out of fashion. Possibly, it will never be completely answered. No matter from what perspective this question can always be asked anew and will continue in gaining in importance. In school already we had to battle against content analysis or tried to explain what is behind the works of famous

Read More

Share

Unconvenient truth

Christina/ September 11, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

These days there is much contradictory to be read or to be heard in the news. Such as the question, whether the Revolution in the Arab World should be hailed or feared in the West. It has been a while that the revolting youth movement has widened its sphere of influence. Protests are reaching from Tunisia via Egypt to Spain,

Read More

Share

Revolution at record speed: did spring give way to winter?

Christina/ August 14, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

Until the end it does not become apparent what Correspondent Dietmar Ossenberg and his team want to put over with their documentary “The fragile dream – the Orient after the revolution”. The title already could be the key to the documentary’s statement: “Nice try but were all attempts in vain?” It is a pity that already at this point one

Read More

Share

A brief summerdelight or hindsight?

Christina/ August 4, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

Being a professional observer of the teacher’s scene I have subscribed to various corresponding mailing-lists. Yesterday I was lucky to learn that the oft-quoted summer slump bears also positive news from time to time. The „Lehrer-Online“ Newsletter made use of exactly this „sun slump“ (referring to the rainy summer 2011), to point out to some interesting intercultural projects. The discovery

Read More

Share

Jährliches Archiv: 2011

Aus persönlichen Gründen

Christina/ Dezember 12, 2011/ Philosophisches

Vielleicht ist euch aufgefallen, dass es auf dem Middle East Messenger in letzter Zeit sehr ruhig geworden ist. Keine neuen Posts. Der letzte ist vom 04.11.2011 – meinem Geburtstag. Einen Tag vor meinem Geburtstag ist mein Vater ins Krankenhaus eingeliefert wurden. Mal wieder. Diesmal war es aber anders. Diesen Krankenhausaufenthalt mein Vater leider nicht überlebt, er ist in der letzten

Weiterlesen

Share

Azulejos

Christina/ November 4, 2011/ Kultur

Unter Azulejo versteht man ein Mosaik aus zumeist quadratischen, bunt bemalten und glasifizierten Keramikfliesen, das seinen europäischen Ursprung in Spanien und Portugal hat und dort hergestellt wird. Diese wetterfesten Fliesen sind in diesen Ländern fester Bestandteil des Stadtbildes und werden an öffentlichen Monumenten und Gebäuden, Hausfassaden und Kirchen, aber auch Innenwänden und zur Dekoration zu oftmals künstlerischen Wandbildern zusammengefügt. Häufig

Weiterlesen

Share

Prix Pictet: sterben oder einfrieren?

Christina/ November 4, 2011/ Kultur

Bei einem Besuch des Botanischen Gartens in Madrid bin ich zufällig auf eine sehr interessante Ausstellung bzw. einen sehr interessanten Preis aufmerksam geworden: den schweizerischen Prix Pictet. Laut der Beschreibung des Preises auf der Internetseite der Stiftung „it has a unique mandate – to use the power of photography to communicate vital messages to a global audience. The goal is

Weiterlesen

Share

Volvo Ocean Race: Der erste Sieg des schwarzen Falkens

Christina/ November 2, 2011/ Kultur

Ein Auftakt nach Maß gelang dem Team Abu Dhabi beim „In-Port Racing“ in Alicante. Das Rennen vom 29.10.2011 markiert den Beginn des „Volvo Ocean Race 2011-2012„. Viele begeisterte Zuschauer verfolgten das spannende Segelduell auf dem Mittelmeer bei dem der „schwarze Falke“ Abu Dhabis als Sieger hervorging. Elegant und souverän ließ das Team Abu Dhabis die Konkurrenz hinter sich und legte

Weiterlesen

Share

Verwirrungen

Christina/ Oktober 22, 2011/ Philosophisches

In diesen Tagen passiert so viel, dass man gar nicht weiß, wie man alles (ein)ordnen soll. Gaddafi ist tot, die Amerikaner ziehen ihre Truppen aus dem Irak ab, der Iran plante angeblich einen Mordanschlag auf den saudi-arabischen Botschafter in den USA, in Europa und Amerika gehen die Menschen gegen die Macht der Banken auf die Straße und der Rettungsschirm für

Weiterlesen

Share

Veränderungen

Christina/ September 26, 2011/ Philosophisches

Am Freitag gab die Berliner Compagnie die Premiere des Stückes „So heiß gegessen wie gekocht“ in der Braunschweiger Brunsviga. In dem Stück, das den Untertitel „Klimakatastrophe mit Musik“ trägt, geht es aber nicht nur um den Bau eines Kohlekraftwerks oder besser gesagt um die Verhinderung desselbigen, sondern auch um das Schicksal eines Flüchtlings. Des Flüchtlings Ibrahim, der die weite, beschwerliche

Weiterlesen

Share

Entschleiert?

Christina/ September 18, 2011/ Philosophisches

Die Frage, warum Menschen das tun, was sie tun, kommt nie aus der Mode. Möglicherweise wird sie nie vollständig beantwortet werden (können). Egal aus welcher Perspektive, sie kann immer wieder neu gestellt werden und gewinnt immer wieder an Bedeutung. Bereits in der Schule kämpfen wir uns durch Inhaltsanalysen oder versuchen die Werke von bekannten Malern zu analysieren. Ob das alles

Weiterlesen

Share

Unbequeme Wahrheiten

Christina/ September 11, 2011/ Philosophisches

In diesen Tagen ist wieder einiges Widersprüchliches zu lesen oder in den Nachrichten zu hören. So ist die Frage, ob die Revolution in der „Arabischen Welt“ nun vom Westen begrüßt oder ängstlich betrachtet werden soll immer noch ungeklärt. Längst hat die revoltierende Jugendbewegung ihren Einflussbereich vergrößert. Von Tunesien über Ägypten nach Spanien, Griechenland, Chile und jüngst auch London und Israel

Weiterlesen

Share

Revolution in Rekordzeit: Ist der Frühling einem Winter gewichen?

Christina/ August 14, 2011/ Philosophisches

Bis zum Schluss wird nicht so richtig deutlich, was uns der Korrespondent Dietmar Ossenberg mit seinem Team und seiner Dokumentation „Der zerbrechliche Traum – das Morgenland nach der Revolution“ vermitteln will. Bereits im Titel der Dokumentation könnte jedoch der Schlüssel zur Aussage liegen: „Nice try but were all attempts in vain?“ Schade, dass man bereits an dieser Stelle einen Traum,

Weiterlesen

Share

Kurzes Sommervergnügen oder späte Einsicht?

Christina/ August 4, 2011/ Philosophisches

Als berufliche Beobachterin der Lehrerszene bin ich in verschiedenen Newsletter-Verteilern eingetragen. Gestern durfte ich erfahren, dass ein vielzitiertes Sommerloch mitunter auch etwas Positives haben kann. Der Newsletter der Internetseite „Lehrer-Online“ nutzte genau dieses „Sonnenloch“ (in Anspielung auf den verregneten Sommer 2011), um auf einige interkulturelle Projekte aufmerksam zu machen. Die Entdeckung des arabischsprechenden Mitbürgers Zwei der vorgestellten Projekte fielen mir

Weiterlesen

Share