Christina/ September 26, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

SO HEISS GEGESSEN WIE GEKOCHT

Premiere

On friday the Berliner Compagnie premiered the play “Things are as bad as they look” at the Brunswieck Brunsviga. The play, subtitled “climatic disaster with music” is not only about the construction of a coal-burning power plant or more precisely about the legal hindrance of the same, but also about the destiny of a refugee. The refugee Ibrahim, who dared the long, burdensome and above all dangerous journey from Africa to Germany just to come to a country that neither respects him as a human being nor is interested in his sufferings.

Unfortunately, Ibrahim is not the only one. Complete nations, such as the Palestinians, seem to share the same fate. And especially the latter, in the form of its president Abbas, concerned the so-called “high-level” politics and a bunch of diplomatists last week. What has happened? A year ago President Obama amerikanische Präsident Obama promised the Palestinians in a speech held in front of the UN-General Assembly an autonomous state. This state does not officially exist up to now. Is it a wonder that Abbas demands the delivery of that promise in this year’s UN-General Debate? Obama, who announced his veto within the UN-Security Council, seems to be flat on his back in the face of the Palestinian decidedness.

But, not only in this respect he does a bad job. Last Thursday the Afro-American Troy Davis who has been kept in jail for more than 20 years – most probably wrongly – was executed by lethal injection. The fact that death penalty is still in function and often – demonstrably – executes innocent people (preferentially black citizens) in a country where the president is a Nobel Prize winner is simply inconceivable and leaves me speechless.

Rightly author Christina Bergmann talks in her article of 22.09.2011 of a disenchanted super power, that simply overslept the Arab Spring. Because: “the initiative of the Palestinian leadership is […] an expression of a legitimate impatience: For how long will the international community states be waiting, how long will above all Israel be waiting, until it grants the Palestinian people a credible perspective for a soon state formation”, Rainer Sollich asked in his article “Security Risk Palestinian State ?

Time Out, Barack? Maybe the power of Social Media combined with the blind roller that took him to presidency surprised Obama the most and threatens to overrun him in the meanwhile, because clever politicians from France and from Turkey had pull the rug from under his feet by now and announced their will to catch up? 2012 is an election year in the States. The incubus is that Obama’s rivals represent even less acceptable alternatives to the presidency than the officeholder himself.

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ September 26, 2011/ Philosophisches

SO HEISS GEGESSEN WIE GEKOCHT

Premiere

Am Freitag gab die Berliner Compagnie die Premiere des Stückes „So heiß gegessen wie gekocht“ in der Braunschweiger Brunsviga. In dem Stück, das den Untertitel „Klimakatastrophe mit Musik“ trägt, geht es aber nicht nur um den Bau eines Kohlekraftwerks oder besser gesagt um die Verhinderung desselbigen, sondern auch um das Schicksal eines Flüchtlings. Des Flüchtlings Ibrahim, der die weite, beschwerliche und vor allen Dingen gefährliche Reise aus Afrika nach Deutschland auf sich genommen hat, nur, um in ein Land zu kommen, dass ihn weder als Menschen respektiert, noch von seinem Schicksal wissen will.

Mit diesem Schicksal ist Ibrahim leider nicht alleine. Ganze Völker, wie z.B. das Volk der Palästinenser scheinen sein Schicksal zu teilen. Und besonders letzteres in Form seines Präsidenten Abbas beschäftigte die „hohe“ Politik und ein Rudel Diplomaten in der vergangenen Woche. Was war passiert? Vor einem Jahr hatte der amerikanische Präsident Obama den Palästinensern in einer Rede vor der UN-Generalversammlung einen eigenen Staat versprochen. Diesen gibt es bis heute nicht. Ist es überraschend, dass Abbas nunmehr genau dieses in der diesjährigen UN-Generaldebatte einfordern will? Obama, der sein Veto im Sicherheitsrat angekündigt hat, wirkt hilflos angesichts der Entschlossenheit der Palästinenser.

Aber nicht nur in dieser wichtigen Angelegenheit macht der amerikanische Präsident eine schlechte Figur. Am letzten Donnerstag wurde der seit 20 Jahren – höchst wahrscheinlich zu unrecht – inhaftierte Afro-Amerikaner Troy Davis mit der Giftspritze hingerichtet. Dass es in einem Land, in dem der Präsident Träger des Friedensnobelpreises ist, immer noch die Todesstrafe gibt und diese in nachweislich vielen Fällen ohne hinreichende Beweise (vorrangig an farbigen Bürgern) vollstreckt wird, ist einfach unfassbar und macht sprachlos.

Zu recht spricht Christina Bergmann in ihrem Artikel vom 22.09.2011 von einer entzauberten Supermacht, die den Arabischen Frühling einfach verschlafen hat. Denn „die Initiative der Palästinenser-Führung ist […] Ausdruck einer berechtigten Ungeduld: Wie lange will die internationale Staatengemeinschaft, wie lange will vor allem Israel selbst noch warten, bis es dem palästinensischen Volk endlich eine glaubwürdige Perspektive für eine baldige Staatsgründung zugesteht“, fragt Rainer Sollich in seinem Artikel „Sicherheitsrisiko Palästinenserstaat?

Time Out, Barack? Vielleicht war Obama von der Kraft der Social Media, deren Welle ihn entscheidend vom Präsidentschaftskandidaten zum Präsidenten getragen hat, am meisten überrascht und droht mittlerweile überrollt zu werden, weil ihm clevere Politiker aus Frankreich und der Türkei inzwischen das Wasser abgraben und die Zeit als Aufholjagd genutzt haben? In 2012 sind wieder Wahlen in den USA. Das Bedrückende ist, dass die Nebenbuhler Obamas eine noch weniger annehmbare Alternative darstellen, als der jetzige Präsident.

Share
Share this Post