Christina/ September 14, 2012/ Culture

v.r.n.l.: Stephan Lohr, Prof. Thomas Bauer, Dr. Naika Foroutan, Prof. Hans-Georg Ebert

The 16th Herrenhäuser Gespräche, initiated by the VolkswagenStiftung and the radio station NDR Kultur, picked out ‚Islam today – a religion in transition‘ as a central theme. The small-sized studio of the NDR broadcasting centre located at the Rudolf-von-Benningsen-Ufer is packed. Presumably, a factor not only due to the Finger-Food-Buffet in connection with the discussion.

It becomes obvious real soon that Islam has become a ‘hot topic’ within recent years. Within the discussion the assumption is quickly statistically approved by Dr. Naika Foroutan from Humboldt-University of Berlin: An analysis of German publications on ‚Islam‘ or ‚Muslime‘ as a topic since 1961 shows a „substantial rise in publications since the 90s. After 2006 literature on the subject increased tremendously“, according to Foroutan. The ‚Peaks‘ mentioned are traced back by the social scientist to the downfall of the ‚Cold War‘ (East-West-Conflict) on the one hand and to the initiation of the Islamic Conference in 2006 on the other hand.

Prof. Thomas Bauer, islamic scientist from the university of Münster, presented a similar argumentation. Bauer analysed articles from the magazine ‚Der Spiegel‘ and found out that the word ‚Islam‘ appeared in an article for the first time in 1979 in course of the Iranian Revolution. „The image of Islam deteriorated in the public mind since then significantly, especially when the Eastern Bloc vanished as a concept of the enemy. Islam replaced this concept and the attempt of 9/11 fueled that picture“, the renowned Islamic scientist explains.

Prof. Hans-Georg Ebert from the university of Leipzig added that an Islamization of the region by the West has taken place: „Action is always regarded as action of a Muslim.“ The West should put some trust in the people of those countries instead of concentrating on the fight against extremism , the expert for Islamic law suggested.

The debaters shared this point of view that there are still two factors that can be hold responsible for the negative image Islam suffers from in Germany. On the one hand, that is the representation of historical occurences from a Eurocentric perspective which can still be found in school books. „The historical reworking was determined by exchange and war for a long time. Now it is dominated by compartmentalization“, Bauer notice. In addition to that the concealment of positive encounters with Islam and its reception should be mentioned. As an example Bauer mentioned the non-existing dispute on the impact respectively the negation of the same that Arabic literature had on the development in Spain and Italy. On the other hand it is the incorrect, since rarely defined, and the inconsiderated use of terms such as ‚jihad‘ or ‚Shari’a‘. „Shari’a“, Ebert explains, „stands for the bans and rules Muslims have to obey for a life agreeable to God. Jihad stands for the „commitment for the sake of God and is not reduced, as often depicted by the media, to the military“, Ebert substantiated.

Bauer gave some more examples on these assumptions. A cross-national and cross-societal ‚Islamic Culture‘, ranging from Mauretania to Indonesia, does not exist. Unfortunately, he did not find a better and more precise term for that region than the name of ‚Muslim World‘ so far. He labeled the negation of changes and developments within Islam as a religion in the public eye ‚problem of the own apperception‘ .

Applied to the German perspective Foroutan suggested that there should not only be requirements but also (municipal) offers for Muslims. The existing ones do not match social reality yet.

Summing up the discussion Bauer notes: From a geopolitical point of view the concept of the enemy Islams is still needed. Concerning the dispute on the atomic bomb between the West and Iran, he says that “the atomic bomb is much safer in Iranian than in Pakistani hands.”

The recording of this Herrenhäuser Gespräch will be broadcasted on October 7th, 2012 at 8 p.m. on NDR Kultur.

Further readings:

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ September 14, 2012/ Kultur

v.r.n.l.: Stephan Lohr, Prof. Thomas Bauer, Dr. Naika Foroutan, Prof. Hans-Georg Ebert

Die 16. Herrenhäuser Gespräche, initiiert von der VolkswagenStiftung und NDR Kultur, thematisieren die Frage ‚Islam heute – eine Religion im Wandel‘. Der kleine Sendesaal des NDR Funkhauses am Rudolf-von-Benningsen-Ufer ist gerammelt voll. Ein Umstand, der wohl nicht nur dem kostenlosen Finger-Food-Buffet im Anschluss an die Diskussion geschuldet ist.

Schnell wird klar, dass sich das Thema Islam in all seinen Facetten in den letzten Jahren zu dem Modethema schlechthin gemausert hat. In der Diskussion wird diese Vermutung von Dr. Naika Foroutan von der Humboldt-Universität in Berlin, auch schnell belegt: Eine Auswertung von deutschen Publikationen zu den Themen ‚Islam‘ oder ‚Muslime‘ seit 1961 zeigt einen „substantiellen Anstieg seit den 90er-Jahren. Nach 2006 stieg die Literatur zu diesen Themen extrem an“, so Foroutan. Die genannten ‚Peaks‘ führte die Sozialwissenschaftlerin zum einen auf den Wegfall des ‚Kalten Krieges‘ (Ost-West-Konflikt) zurück und zum anderen auf die erste Islamkonferenz in 2006.

Eine vergleichbare Argumentationsweise nutzt zuvor Prof. Dr. Thomas Bauer, Islamwissenschaftler an der Universität Münster. Bauer hat sich mit Artikeln aus der Zeitschrift ‚Der Spiegel‘ beschäftigt und festgestellt, dass das Wort ‚Islam‘ dort zum ersten Mal 1979 in einem Artikel genannt wurde. Damals im Zuge der iranischen Revolution. „Das Islambild verschlechterte sich seit dem immer mehr, besonders als der Ostblock als Feindbild wegfiel. An diese Stelle wurde der Islam gerückt und das Attentat von 9/11 hat das verstärkt“, so die Erläuterung des renommierten Islamwissenschaftlers.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Ebert von der Universität Leipzig ergänzt, dass eine Islamisierung der Region stattgefunden hätte: „Handeln wird immer als das Handeln eines Muslims betrachtet.“ Der Westen, so der Vorschlag des Islamrechtlers, sollte den Menschen in den Ländern eine Chance geben und nicht immer nur den Extremismus bekämpfen.

In diesem Punkt sind sich die Diskutanten grundsätzlich einig: Nach wie vor scheinen zwei Faktoren für das negative Bild des Islams in Deutschland verantwortlich zu sein. Da ist zum einen die Darstellung historischer Ereignisse aus eurozentrischer Perspektive, wie sie z.B. in Schulbüchern stattfindet. „Die geschichtliche Aufarbeitung war lange Zeit eine des Austausches und des Krieges gewesen. Nun ist sie eine der Abschottung“, bemerkt Bauer. Additiv ist das Verschweigen (ob bewusst oder unbewusst) positiver Islambegegnungen oder –rezeptionen zu nennen. Als Beispiel nennt Bauer die nicht vorhandene Auseinandersetzung bzw. sogar die Negierung des Einflusses der arabischen auf die spanische und italienische Literatur. Zum anderen sind es die unkorrekte, weil selten definierte, und der unreflektierte Gebrauch von Begriffen wie ‚Dschihad‘ oder ‚Shari’a‘. „Shari’a“, klärt Islamrechtler Ebert die Anwesenden auf, „bezeichne für die Muslime Geh- und Verbote für ein gottgefälliges Leben. Der Dschihad stehe für den „Einsatz für die Sache Gottes und sei nicht, wie so oft in den westlichen Medien dargestellt, auf das Militärische zu reduzieren“, konkretisiert Ebert.

Weitere Beispiele für die obigen Thesen nennt Bauer. Die länder- und gesellschaftsübergreifende ‚islamische Kultur‘, die von Mauretanien bis nach Indonesien greifen müsste, gebe es schlichtweg nicht. Er selber habe leider auch noch keine bessere einheitliche Bezeichnung für diesen Raum gefunden als die Bezeichnung ‚muslimische Welt‘, sei damit aber keineswegs zufrieden. Unter dem ‚Problem der eigenen Wahrnehmung‘ subsumiert Bauer zudem das nicht-zur-Kenntnis-nehmen von Wandlungen und Weiterentwicklungen des Islams in der öffentlichen Meinung.

Konkretisiert auf die deutsche Perspektive regt Foroutan dazu an, dass es nicht nur Forderungen, sondern auch (kommunale) Angebote an die Muslime geben müsse. Diese entsprächen bislang nicht der gesellschaftlichen Wirklichkeit.

Resümierend stellt Bauer fest: Geopolitisch wird das Feindbild des Islams noch gebraucht. Zum ‚Atombombenstreit‘ merkte er an, dass die Atombombe im Iran wesentlicher sicherer sei als in pakistanischer Hand.

Die Aufzeichnung dieses Herrenhäuser Gespräches als Rundfunksendung wird am 7. Oktober 2012 ab 20:00 Uhr auf NDR Kultur in der Reihe „Sonntagsstudio“ ausgestrahlt.

Zum Weiterlesen:

Share
Share this Post