Christina/ April 11, 2011/ Culture

Sunday evening. My inner voice reels between the beautiful spring weather outside and the lecture given inside on a vastly discussed topic. The mere drive (by bicycle) would have been worth the effort. So far, I considered my current city as boring if not narrow-minded. Suddenly I discovered „Little Neukölln“ just some metres off the city centre. At the venue the scientific community, which likes to pipe up when explosive topics are being discussed, was already dawdling there. It is about integration – once again. It is – of course – about Islam. This time however from the „oriental“ perspective, as bloomy described in the lecture’s subtitle: “Arabic-Islamic cultural roots and the integration dilemma (from the oriental perspective)”.

And what is it exactly all about this „Orient“? Does that not sound already a little bit like a sulty-western neologism (compare to Said “Orientalism”)? (Maybe it is better to conceal at this point, that the third hit when entering the keyword „Morgenland=Orient“ that Google shows is the nude sauna club Morgenland. On’y soit qui mal y pense?) According to Wikipedia the term has been introduced to Germany by Martin Luther.

Grouplets of “scientists” are standing together, exchanging knowledge, when I entre the room. The hall is half-full. The lecture is supposed to start at 6 o’clock (p.m.). Around five minutes past six the preparations for the technical support of the lecture gets started: the interaction of the laptop and the beamer is being tested. A picture is to be a long time coming. Instantly there is a grouplet of six men standing around the desk with the laptop. They seem to be intrigued with the screen, there is a discussion, there is trial and error. Thereby, the elderly are standing in front line, the youngsters acting as their advisers.

The average age of the audience is approximately around 45-60 years. Some people seem to know each other for some extent. Around 6:15 the laptop is being replaced. Finally there is a picture on the wall. The lecturer will be Prof. Wael Adi from the Institute of data systems technology and communications network of the TU Brunswick. More guests are arriving. Five minutes later another handful of young students (?) enter the room. The Der presenter plucks up courage and starts with the lecture’s introduction with the word “finally everybody made it here …”.

The presenter introduces the lecturer. Born in Syria Adi came in the 1970ies to Germany, where he made his PHD, qualified as a professor, worked for the industry around ten years and taught as a visiting professor at the university of Sharjah.

Adi thanks for the introduction and points out that he does not consider himself to be an expert on the topic displayed. He is rather a data engineer than an expert for Islamic history and culture. The lecture is meant to demonstrate the Arabic point of view of the topic. It does not claim scientificness but directs to the “concerned citizen”.

Adi starts his lecture with some facts: The Arabic World consists of 22 countries popularised by approximately 350 million people. Three world religions are domiciled in this region. 60 % of the population is younger than 25 years, which could be a threat or a promise according to Adi’s words. The region shows a high increase in population almost three times as high as in Germany. In another lecture cited by Prof. Adi named the „The Broader Middle East“ the former ambassador Edward P. Djerejian talked about 7000 years of cultural roots in the region and merely existing structures of democracy according to western understanding at any rate

The Arabs, Adi continued, do not form one nation but dispose of an arabic linguistic cultural area. Subsequently Adi provided in his lecture consisting of more than 150 charts (!) a, according to his words, short introduction to Arabic history. While we are being told that the first Arabic Alphabet was discovered in Ugerit between 1600-1500 B.C., more visitors are entering the room. Meanwhile it is 6:40 Uhr. The „academic quarter“(the extent of acceptable lateness in Germany is 15 minutes) should be over by now.

In the meantime Prof. Adi started his search for the roots of the Arab nation and finds himself on the way to the Old Testament. It is about Abraham and his two wives, Sara and the Egyptian villain Hagar. As Sara could not become pregnant for years Hagar was supposed to give birth to a son and heir for Abraham. We all know the outcome – firstly Hagar bears a baby boy called Ismael. Unexpectedly Sara becomes pregnant as well and gives birth to Isaak. Hagar and her son were given their walking papers – that is when the historiography of the three world religions separates.

A cell phone rings – it’s owner answers the phone. Polychronic concept of time at its best?

Prof. Adi continues that are meanwhile 1,560 millions of Muslims in the world. 300-400 millions are Arabs. According to estimations this number will double within 25 years and then there will be 3,2 billions of Muslims, which will account for around 40 % of the world population. Some countries’ population will double before that, such as Palestine in around 20 years and Yemen in around 21 years.

There is another intercultural „contribution“: At chart 90 somehow or other the lecture is designed for an audio file. However, there are no loudspeaker connected to the laptop. Again technical help comes from within the audience. Wires are being installed. The lecturer seems not to be irritated at all. He shakes his head, in fact the play of the file is not necessary. Therefore the wire from the loudspeaker is not being plugged into the laptop. Still Prof. Adi presses again the play-button. Nothing happens, certainly.

After more than 1, 5 hours Prof. Adi draws his first conclusions: The three world religions are a challenge from god, disputes are to be postponed to the afterlife. Plurality of religions is a gift of god and shall be kept. Only details and the historical course of action are different, despite that the religions are alike.

Is it possible to measure tolerance or to express a grad of tolerance in numbers? Prof. Adi displays two examples:

    Istanbul 12,8 million inhabitants

  • 2.562 mosques = 1 mosque for 5.000 muslims
  • 40 churches = 1 church for 2.000 christians
  • 16 Synagogues = 1 Synagogue for 1.560 jews

    Damascus, 4,1 million inhabitants

  • 75 % muslims = appr.. 200 mosques
  • 15 % christians, 6 % Alawiten, Drusen, jews
  • 240 000 christians = 37 churches

Finally, with chart 119 we arrive at the initially mentioned cultural dilemma. After almost two hours my concentration is stressed to that extent that the explanation of topics such as „social dilemma: no marriage on trial, system-clash and Arabs/muslims refuse (moral) liberality (the family model of the society is not being regarded as outdated) and the „Euro-Model cannot be transferred (lack of founding and infrastructure) makes me weary and has been heard of too often.

It is getting more interesting again when Adi talks about fears of the majority of the population, such as Islamization, loss of social comforts and of a massiv demographic imbalance. Nothing new so far. However until the objection from the audience, aired by one woman, gets heard. She claims that „Xenophobia is all existing everywhere.“ I wonder, whether this statement makes it more acceptable or appropriate?

A final statement of Prof. Adi paves its way to my head. „Eurocentrism meets Arabo-Islamo-Centrism“. After that my intake capacity is finally exhausted.

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ April 11, 2011/ Kultur

Sonntag abend. Draußen herrscht schönstes Frühlingswetter als es mich zu einem vorabendlichen Vortrag über ein viel diskutiertes Thema zieht. Allein die Anfahrt per Fahrrad zum Zielort hätte den Weg gelohnt. Hatte ich meinen derzeitigen Wohnort bisher für langweilig bis gar spießig gehalten, entdeckte ich nun „Klein Neukölln“ ein Stück weit aus der Innenstadt. Am Austragungsort weilt bereits die wissenschaftliche Elite, die sich gern mal mit einem brisanten Thema zu Wort meldet. Es geht mal wieder um Integration. Es geht mal wieder – natürlich – um den Islam. Diesmal aber aus „morgenländischer“ Perspektive, wie es so blumig im Untertitel heißt:
Die arabisch-islamischen Kulturwurzeln und das Integrations-Dilemma (aus morgenländischer Perspektive).

Und was genau bezeichnet dieses „Morgenland“? Ist nicht auch bereits der Terminus eine schwül-westliche Wortschöpfung? Vielleicht verschweige ich an dieser Stelle besser, dass bereits der dritte Treffer nach Stichworteingabe „Morgenland“ bei Google zum FKK Saunaclub Morgenland führt? On’y soit qui mal y pense? Tatsächlich wurde der im Begriff im Deutschen durch Martin Luther eingeführt.

Grüppchen von „Wissenschaftlern“ stehen bereits zusammen und tauschen ihr Wissen aus, als ich den Vortragsraum betrete. Der Saal ist zunächst halbvoll. Der Vortragsbeginn ist für 18 Uhr angesetzt. Gegen 18:05 Uhr wird mit dem Aufbau für den Vortrag begonnen und das Zusammenspiel zwischen Laptop und Beamer getestet. Ein Bild für die Leinwand lässt auf sich warten. Schnell bildet sich um das Pult mit dem Laptop ein Grüppchen (sechs Männer). Sie schauen interessiert auf den Bildschirm, es wird diskutiert, man probiert aus. Dabei stehen die Älteren in der ersten Reihe, die Jüngeren in der zweiten beratend zur Seite.

Der Altersdurchschnitt dürfte zwischen 45-60 Jahre liegen, vielleicht auch älter. Teilweise scheint man sich zu kennen. Gegen 18:15 Uhr wird das Laptop ausgewechselt, jetzt gibt es ein Bild an der Wand. Vortragender wird Prof. Wael Adi vom Institut für Datentechnik und Kommunikationsnetze von der TU Braunschweig sein. Weitere Gäste treffen ein. Fünf Minuten später kommt noch eine Handvoll jüngere Leute, Studenten des Professors? Der Moderator fasst sich ein Herz und beginnt die Einleitung zum Vortrag mit den Worten „Endlich sind alle da …“.

Der Moderator stellt uns den Redner kurz vor. In Syrien geboren kam Adi in den 70ger Jahren nach Deutschland, promoviert, habilitierte, war eine Zeitlang in der Industrie tätig und hatte eine Gastprofessur an der Universität in Sharjah inne.

Adi dankt für die Einführung und weißt zunächst darauf hin, dass er „Datentechniker sei und kein Experte auf dem Fachgebiet der islamischen Geschichte oder Kultur.“ Der Vortrag versuche den arabischen Blickwinkel aufzuzeigen. Der Vortrag erhebt keinen wissenschaftlichen Anspruch sondern richtet sich an den interessierten Bürger.

Adi beginnt seinen Vortrag mit ein paar Fakten: Die Arabische Welt besteht aus 22 Ländern, in denen ca. 350 Mio. Menschen leben. Drei Weltreligionen sind in dieser Region entstanden und beheimatet; 60 % der Bevölkerung ist unter 25 Jahre alt. Die Region weist ein hohes Bevölkerungswachstum auf, das fast 3x so hoch ist, wie in Deutschland. In einem zitierten Vortrag „The Broader Middle East“ verwies der ehemalige Botschafter Edward P. Djerejian weiterhin auf 7000 Jahre Kulturwurzeln in der Region und kaum vorhandene Demokratie, jedenfalls nach westlichem Verstädnis

Die Araber, so Adi weiter, seien nicht ein Volk, sondern verfügten über einen arabischen Sprachkulturraum. Nachfolgend gab Adi in seinem Vortrag mit über 150 Folien (!) eine, seinen Worten nach, kurze Einführung in die arabische Geschichte. Noch während wir erfahren, dass das erste arabische Alphabet bereits zwischen 1600-1500 v. Chr in Ugerit entdeckt wurde, kommen die nächsten Besucher. Mittlerweile ist es 18:40 Uhr. Das akademische Viertel ist überschritten.

Prof. Adi hat sich mittlerweile auf der Suche nach den Anfängen des arabischen Volks auf den Weg in das Alte Testament begeben. Es geht um Abraham und seine beiden Frauen, Sara und die ägyptische Sklavin Hagar. Nach dem Sara jahrelang nicht schwanger werden konnte, soll nun Hagar einspringen und für Abraham einen Stammhalter gebären. Das Ergebnis kennen wir alle – erst bringt Hagar Abrahams Sohn Ismael zur Welt. Unerwartet wird Sara ebenfalls schwanger und schenkt Isaak das Leben. Hagar und ihr Sohn werden in die Wüste geschickt – hier trennen sich die Geschichtsschreibungen der drei Weltreligionen.

Ein Handy klingelt – sein Besitzer geht ran. Polychrones Zeitverständnis in Reinkultur?

Prof. Adi führt fort, dass es mittlerweile 1.560 Mio. Muslime auf der Welt gäbe. 300-400 Mio. davon seien Araber. Schätzungen nach, wird sich diese Anzahl in 25 Jahren verdoppelt haben („Doubling Time“) und dann bei 3,2 Mrd. Muslimen liegen, die dann ca. 40 % der Weltbevölkerung ausmachten. Einige Länder, wie z.B. Palästina oder der Jemen, werden sich bereits innerhalb von 20 bzw. 21 Jahren verdoppelt haben.

Es kommt zu einer weiteren interkulturellen „Einlage“: Bei Folie 90 oder so sieht der Vortrag von Prof. Adil eine Sprechdatei vor. Es sind jedoch keine Lautsprecher an das Laptop angeschlossen. Wieder eilt technische Hilfe aus dem Publikum heran. Kabel werden verlegt. Der Vortragende ist nicht irritiert. Er schüttelt den Kopf, eigentlich ist das Vorspielen der Datei nicht vonnöten. Das Kabel aus dem Lautsprecher wird also nicht in das Laptop gesteckt. Jetzt drückt Prof. Adi trotzdem wieder auf den Abspielknopf. Natürlich hat sich nichts getan.

Nach mehr als 1 ½ Stunden kommt Prof. Adi zu einem weiteren Fazit: Die drei Weltreligionen sind eine Herausforderung Gottes, Streitigkeiten sollen ins jenseits verlegt werden. Religionsvielfalt ist ein Geschenk Gottes und soll erhalten bleiben. Nur Details und geschichtlicher Ablauf sind anders, sonst sind die Religionen gleich.

Lässt sich Toleranz oder ein Toleranzgrad in Zahlen ausdrücken? Prof. Adi gibt ein paar Beispiele:

    Istanbul 12,8 Mio. Einwohner

  • 2.562 Moscheen = 1 Moschee auf 5.000 Muslime
  • 40 Kirchen = 1 Kirche auf 2.000 Christen
  • 16 Synagogen = 1 Synagoge für 1.560 Juden

    Damaskus, ca. 4,1 Mio

  • 75 % Muslime = ca. 200 Moscheen
  • 15 % Christen, 6 % Alawiten, Drusen, Juden etc.
  • 240 000 Christen = 37 Kirchen

Endlich, bei Folie 119 kommen wir auf das anfänglich erwähnte Kulturdilemma zu sprechen. Nach fast zwei Stunden ist meine Konzentration allerdings bereits soweit strapaziert, dass ich bei der Erläuterung von Themen wie „soziales Dilemma: keine Ehe auf Probe (Mann-Frau-Beziehung)
System-Kollision: Konflikt“ und „Araber/Muslime lehnen Freizügigkeit ab (Familie wird dort nicht als Auslaufmodell gesehen)“ als auch „Euro-Modelle nicht übertragbar (Finanzierung / Infrastruktur)“ langsam die Lust und das Interesse verliere.

Interessanter scheint es nochmals zu werden, als Adi auf die Ängste der Mehrheitsbevölkerung zu sprechen kommt und von der Angst vor Islamisierung und der Angst vor Verlust sozialer Erungenschaften und einem massiven demographisches Ungleichgewicht spricht. Soweit nichts Neues. Interessant ist vielmehr der entrüstete Einwurf einer Teilnehmerin, die sich bereits vorher einmal zu Wort gemeldet hatte und behauptet: „Ängste vor dem Fremden gibt es doch überall.“ Werden diese Ängste dadurch akzeptabler oder angebrachter?

Ein letztes Fazit von Prof. Adi nehme ich noch mit auf den Weg. „Eurozentrismus stößt auf Arabo-Islamo-Zentrismus“. Danach ist meine Aufnahmekapazität leider erschöpft.

Was ich aus dem Vortrag mitgenommen habe? Es geht nicht darum, zu vergleichen, welche Religion die bessere ist oder welche früher da war. Egal, welcher Religion wir angehören, egal, auf welche Religion wir treffen. Es zählen immer die Menschen dahinter. Alle Menschen dieser Welt haben Respekt verdient. Religionen werden allzu oft politisch missbraucht; die Menschen dahinter über einen Kamm gescherrt. Genau darum geht es, um das Individuum und nicht Sammelbegriffe wie Christentum, Judentum oder Islam.

Share
Share this Post