Tag Archives: Iran

Corona-diary: Art exhibition opening of Dariush Farazi

Christina/ October 31, 2020/ Culture

It is my first art exhibition opening of the year. And it will be my last. The lockdown is back again – this time in a „light“ version. It is supposed to be a calories reduced alternative to the full shutdown in March. It is for the second time that we have to renounce exhibitions, cinemas or theatres, meeting with

Read More

Share

City of lies: Teheran

Christina/ August 6, 2019/ Culture

For all who are interested in deep insights into Iranian day-to-day life should take a look at Ramit Navi’s book: „City of lies. Love, Sex and death in Teheran“, an interesting and complex reading. Eight stories portrait the city and the people living in it. The narrations result from interviews being taken by the author with the corresponding protagonists –

Read More

Share

The penis cemetery

Christina/ November 29, 2014/ Culture

That’s torn it: for years the European and American media has been lying to us and wilfully duped us. Pakistan and Iran countries of men wearing long beards, who are reluctant to all sexual appetite and virtuous behaviour is predominant everywhere? As if! In its pre-prime-time serial “Summits of Iran” arte.tv produced evidence to the contrary yesterday and showed as

Read More

Share

„The atomic bomb is supposingly safer in Iranian than in Pakistani hands“

Christina/ September 14, 2012/ Culture

The 16th Herrenhäuser Gespräche, initiated by the VolkswagenStiftung and the radio station NDR Kultur, picked out ‚Islam today – a religion in transition‘ as a central theme. The small-sized studio of the NDR broadcasting centre located at the Rudolf-von-Benningsen-Ufer is packed. Presumably, a factor not only due to the Finger-Food-Buffet in connection with the discussion. It becomes obvious real soon

Read More

Share

(Oriental) stories stranger than fiction

Christina/ May 1, 2011/ Ideas of philosophy

My first real contact with the phenomena of “binational” marriages was full of clichés and a big success in the western hemisphere being approved in its stereotypes: “Not without my daughter” was the name of the hieß das pretentious novel which was later on picturized with Sally Field playing the leading part. The Arabic or better Islamic world opened up

Read More

Share

Shah Abbas I. at the British Museum

Christina/ April 20, 2009/ Culture

Shortly before eastern I received a gift from the British capital: The catalogue accompanying the exhibition “Shah ‘Abbas and the Treasures of Imperial Iran”. An attentive acquaintance who knows my affinity for Arabic Culture (and Persian as well) gave the book to me. On overall 67 coloured images of the exhibition items it is truely possible to dive into the

Read More

Share

Corona-Tagebuch: Ausstellungseröffnung von Dariush Farazi

Corona-Tagebuch: Ausstellungseröffnung von Dariush Farazi

Es ist meine erste Ausstellungseröffnung in diesem Jahr. Es wird auch die letzte sein. Der Lockdown ist wieder da – diesmal als “light”-Variante. Dabei handelt es sich um die kalorienreduzierte Alternative zum “Vollfett”-Lockdown des Frühjahrs. Der erneute Verzicht auf viele, liebgewonnene Gewohnheiten, wie die Besuche von Ausstellungen, Theater oder Kino, das Treffen von Freunden und die wöchentlichen Zirkeltrainingsrunden macht den

Weiterlesen

Share
In der Stadt der Lügen: Teheran

In der Stadt der Lügen: Teheran

Für alle, die an Einblicken in und nicht über den Iran interessiert sind, hat Ramit Navi mit „Stadt der Lügen, Liebe, Sex und Tod in Teheran“ eine interessantes und vielschichtiges Buch vorgelegt. In acht Geschichten porträtiert sie die Stadt mit den Menschen, die darin leben. Die Erzählungen sind aus Interviews entstanden, die die Autorin mit den Protagonisten geführt hat, mal

Weiterlesen

Share

Der Penis-Friedhof

So, jetzt ist es raus: Jahrelang hat man uns in den europäischen und amerikanischen Medien betrogen und uns bewusst hinter den islamischen Halbmond geführt. Pakistan und der Iran ein Land der Männer mit den langen Bärten, die allen sexuellen Gelüsten abgeneigt sind und tugendhaftes Verahlten überall vorherrschend ist? Von wegen! In seiner Vorabendreihe “Die Gipfel des Iran” trat arte.tv gestern

Weiterlesen

Share
„Im Iran ist die Atombombe wesentlicher sicherer als in pakistanischer Hand“

„Im Iran ist die Atombombe wesentlicher sicherer als in pakistanischer Hand“

Die 16. Herrenhäuser Gespräche, initiiert von der VolkswagenStiftung und NDR Kultur, thematisieren die Frage ‚Islam heute – eine Religion im Wandel‘. Der kleine Sendesaal des NDR Funkhauses am Rudolf-von-Benningsen-Ufer ist gerammelt voll. Ein Umstand, der wohl nicht nur dem kostenlosen Finger-Food-Buffet im Anschluss an die Diskussion geschuldet ist. Schnell wird klar, dass sich das Thema Islam in all seinen Facetten

Weiterlesen

Share

(Orientalische) Geschichte, die das Leben schreibt

Meine erste wirkliche Berührung mit dem Phänomen der “binationalen” Ehe war voller Klischees und ein Riesenerfolg in der westlichen Hemisphäre, die sich in ihren Stereotypen bestätigt sah: “Nicht ohne meine Tochter” hieß das prätentiöse Werk, das später auch noch eine Verfilmung mit Sally Field in der Hauptrolle erfuhr. Die arabische oder besser gesagt islamische Welt hatte sich mir bis dahin

Weiterlesen

Share

Shah Abbas I. im British Museum

Kurz vor Ostern erreichte mich ein Kleinod aus der britischen Hauptstadt: Der Katalog zur Ausstellung “Shah ‘Abbas and the Treasures of Imperial Iran”. Ein aufmerksamer Bekannter, dem meine Affinität zur Arabischen Kultur bekannt ist, brachte mir dieses Buch mit. Auf insgesamt 67 farblichen Abbildungen der Ausstellungsobjekte lässt es sich vortrefflich in die Zeit des Shahs eintauchen. Informationen zur Ausstellung und

Weiterlesen

Share