Tag Archives: Abu Dhabi

Creating the evil “Other”

Christina/ January 22, 2012/ Culture

In preparation of my doctoral thesis on discourse and intercultural education I came across the methodology of ethnographic content analysis on the one hand and a research document titled “Peering Beneath the Veil: An Ethnographic Content Analysis of Islam as Portrayed on The 700 Club Following the September 11th Attacks” by Eric Gormly on the other hand. Discourse analysis is

Read More

Share

Abu Dhabi stepping out of Dubai’s shadow

Christina/ June 16, 2011/ Culture

For years Dubai was „ahead by a nose“. Whereas Abu Dhabi still lived in permanent hibernation, Dubai equtated hard work, celebration and settting up of various records. However, „slowly but surely“ the biggest state of the United Arab Emirates built a new image. The Great Recession might have acted as some kind of midwife to let Abu Dhabi’s star rise

Read More

Share

A building from thousand and one nights:The Sheikh-Zayed-Grand-Mosque

Christina/ January 5, 2011/ Culture

A building like a dream or a fairy tale. It is impossible to think of more superlatives than this, the first impression is overwhelming. The approach alone already is special. It does not matter which of the three bridges that are leading to Abu Dhabi your are choosing to head there, the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque will be visible from

Read More

Share

Luxury’s peak: The Emirates Palace

Christina/ January 5, 2011/ Culture

It is big. No, it is vast. Picture from TV do not do justice to reality. It is a monster! If you are standing in front of it for the first time it throws you for a loop! Well, I mean I’ve seen quite something from the world, however the stretch of this hotel is phenomenal. At night the colour

Read More

Share

Camel Race

Christina/ January 5, 2011/ Culture

Camel Races are shown fridays on the Al-Wathba Camel Race Track. To rise with the sun, races start at around 07:30 a.m, is worth it as the little video displays. Next to a short video there are pictures of the event. More articles from the United Arab Emirates: Al-Ain Palace Museum Luxury’s Peak: Emirates Palace Visions for the future: The

Read More

Share

Next Stop: Abu Dhabi

Christina/ October 6, 2010/ Culture

The caravan moves on, the topics remain the same. Whereas Dubai is still economizing its big brother Abu Dhabi is firing on all cylinders. Last year it was the Formular-One-Circuit on Yas Island, now it’s the completion of the new Sheikh-Zayed-Mosque which is called a “magnificient building of a majestic size and oriental beauty”, newspapers like “Neuen Züricher Zeitung” (NZZ)

Read More

Share

No superlative – no story?

Christina/ August 16, 2010/ Culture

A story covering the Gulf-States without any superlative? unthinkable, unplaceable, doesn’t earn any money! A cliché? Not at all. “At full throttle through the desert” that’s the promising title of a one-hour TV documentary, broadcasted last sunday (August 15th, 2010) on “Kabel Eins”. Not fancy enough? Not really, especially as the circuit has been built close to the habour and

Read More

Share

Sex and the ..?

Christina/ June 6, 2010/ Culture

They are back: Four girl friends from downtown Manhattan, New York, the “Concrete Jungle” that Alicia Keys sings about in her soundtrack “Empire State of Mind” accompanying the movie. It comes back when the soundtrack starts: the comforting “Sex and the City”-feeling that made grey tueday nights bright blue. It comes back but it does not remain for long. Just

Read More

Share

Golf balls

Christina/ April 11, 2010/ Culture

There is more to the Gulf than the highest tower of the world, the only seven star hotel in the world or a metro that moves without a conductor. Thinking of the Gulf states is often synonymous with thinking of Dubai – the most prominent state. However, there are only a few who are aware of the fact that also

Read More

Share

Duell at the Gulf

Christina/ November 1, 2009/ Culture

Touché! Until now Dubai has beaten the pants off its brother Abu Dhabi. This time, however, Abu Dhabi won the race. The Formular One gives a guest performance this Sunday over there. With a “White spaceship in the desert the oilrich great land owner made its debut! Even if that race was irrelevant for this year’s Formular One and Abu

Read More

Share

Schlagwort Archiv: Abu Dhabi

Den bösen “Fremden” konstruieren

Christina/ Januar 22, 2012/ Kultur

Während der Vorbereitungen für meine Doktorarbeit über Diskurse und interkulturelle Bildung stieß ich einerseits auf die Methodik der ethnographischen Inhaltsanalyse und andererseits auf eine Forschungsdokumentation mit dem Titel “Peering Beneath the Veil: An Ethnographic Content Analysis of Islam as Portrayed on The 700 Club Following the September 11th Attacks” by Eric Gormly. Die Diskursanalyse ist ein Forschungsprogramm, um die Konstruktion

Weiterlesen

Share

Im Schatten des großen Bruders

Christina/ Juni 16, 2011/ Kultur

Jahrelang hatte Dubai die Nase vorn. Während sich Abu Dhabi noch im Dornröschenschlaf zu befinden schien, wurde in Dubai bereits gearbeitet, gefeiert und Rekorde aufgestellt. Doch „slowly but surely“ hat sich der größte Staat der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate ein neues Image aufgebaut. Und als Geburtshelfer des Erfolgs tat die Finanzkrise ihr Übriges um den Stern Abu Dhabis endlich erstrahlen und

Weiterlesen

Share

Ein Bau aus 1001-Nacht: Die Sheikh-Zayed-Grand-Mosque

Christina/ Januar 5, 2011/ Kultur

Ein Bau wie aus dem Märchen. Es sind kaum mehr Superlative denkbar, der erste Eindruck ist überwältigend. Schon die Anfahrt zur Moschee ist etwas Besonderes. Egal, welche der drei Brücken man nimmt, die nach Abu Dhabi führen, die Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque wird man immer sehen. Und wer sie einmal aus der Ferne gesehen hat, der will mehr sehen und

Weiterlesen

Share

Der Gipfel des Luxus: Emirates Palace

Christina/ Januar 5, 2011/ Kultur

Es ist groß. Nein, es ist riesig. Die Bilder aus dem Fernsehen werden der Realität nicht gerecht. Es ist ein Monster! Wenn man das erste Mal vor dem Emirates Palace steht verschlägt es einem die Sprache. Ich bin in der Welt schon ganz gut rumgekommen und habe einiges gesehen, aber die Ausdehnung dieses Hotels ist sagenhaft. Abends wechseln das Zufahrtstor

Weiterlesen

Share

Kamelrennen

Christina/ Januar 5, 2011/ Kultur

Auf dem Al-Wathba Camel Race Track werden freitags in der Früh Kamelrennen abgehalten. Frühes Aufstehen, Beginn ist gegen 07:30 Uhr, lohnt sich allemal, wie der kleine Film zeigt. Neben einem kurzen Video gibt es Bildmaterial rund um die Veranstaltung. Weitere Berichte aus den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten: Al-Ain Palastmuseum Der Gipfel des Luxus: Emirates Palace Zukunftsvisionen: Das Projekt Saadiyat Island Traditionen

Weiterlesen

Share

Next stop: Abu Dhabi

Christina/ Oktober 6, 2010/ Kultur

Die Karawane zieht weiter, die Themen bleiben dieselben. Während in Dubai noch gespart wird, ist beim großen Bruder Abu Dhabi der Bauboom im vollen Gange. Im letzten Jahr war es die Formel-Eins-Strecke auf Yas Island, jetzt ist es die Fertigstellung der neuen Sheikh-Zayed-Moschee, die bezeichnet als “Prunkbau von majestätischer Grösse und orientalischer Schönheit”, Zeitungen wie der “Neuen Züricher Zeitung” (NZZ)

Weiterlesen

Share

Kein Superlativ – keine Story?

Christina/ August 16, 2010/ Kultur

Eine Story über die Golf-Staaten ohne Superlative? Undenkbar, unvermittelbar, bringt kein Geld! Ein Klischée? Bei Weitem nicht. “Mit Vollgas durch die Wüste” so der verheißungsvolle Titel einer einstündigen TV-Dokumentation, die am vergangenen Sonntag (15.08.2010) auf Kabel Eins gesendet wurde. Nicht besonders originell? Tatsächlich nicht, zumal die Strecke am Hafen, der Marina, gebaut wurde und wir hier nicht von Paris-Dakar reden.

Weiterlesen

Share

Sex and the ..?

Christina/ Juni 6, 2010/ Kultur

Sie sind zurück: Die vier Freundinnen aus Downtown Manhattan, New York, dem “Concrete Jungle”, den Alicia Keys in Ihrem Soundtrack “Empire State of Mind” zum Film besingt. Wenn der Soundtrack erklingt kommt es zurück, das alte “Sex and the City”-Gefühl, das auch graue Dienstag abend erhellt hatte. Es kommt zurück, aber leider bleibt es nicht. Noch schnell hatte ein bekannter

Weiterlesen

Share

Golfbälle

Christina/ April 11, 2010/ Kultur

Am Golf gibt es mehr zu entdecken als den höchsten Turm der Welt, das einzige sieben Sterne Hotel der Welt oder eine Metro, die ohne Führer fährt. Wer an die Golf-Staaten denkt, dem fällt meist zunächst Dubai ein. Das mag daran liegen, dass das zweitegrößte Mitglied der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate durch immer wieder neue Bauten in den Himmel von sich

Weiterlesen

Share

Golfduell

Christina/ November 1, 2009/ Kultur

Touché! Bisher war Dubai dem großen Bruder Abu Dhabi um Längen voraus. Aber diesmal ist Abu Dhabi der Sieger im Rennen: Die Formel Eins gastierte an diesem Sonntag erstmals in Abu Dhabi. Mit einem “Weißen Raumschiff in der Wüste” ging der Ölreserven-Großgrundbesitzer an den Start! Auch wenn das Rennen im diesjährigen Formel 1-Zirkus keine große Rolle mehr spielte und Abu

Weiterlesen

Share