Christina/ January 22, 2012/ Culture

In preparation of my doctoral thesis on discourse and intercultural education I came across the methodology of ethnographic content analysis on the one hand and a research document titled “Peering Beneath the Veil: An Ethnographic Content Analysis of Islam as Portrayed on The 700 Club Following the September 11th Attacks” by Eric Gormly on the other hand.

Discourse analysis is a research programme to reveal the construction of ‘reality’ and ‘stock of knowledge’ within society. In his study, Gormly analyzed over two calender weeks following immediately after the September 11th attacks at total of nine programs broadcasted by the 700 Club -TV station.

Following a review of religious broadcasting intended to give people moral guidance, information, entertainment and as a substitute for secular programs people consider immoral, Gormly looked into The 700 Club program as a key source of information and guidance for Evangelical Christians.

From Gormly’s findings it becomes evident that Pat Robertson, founder of The 700 Club, makes use of the ‘anti-islamic-atmosphere’ which followed the attacks, to place his messages and situate “Islam and Muslims within the same frame as militant Islam, radical Muslims and terrorists”. Besides that, he seized the chance to etch the belief in his audience’s head that “the West – Islam can only the viewed as a threat that strikes at the very core of an Evangelical Christian’s beliefs and therefore must be portrayed that way”.

This might be a starkly example of the constitution of “public truth” and “collective knowledge”. However, mechanism as shown above, are daily used in public discourse. Sometimes in a more descreet way, but identifiable if one wants to.

Let’s look at another evitable ‘harmless’ example: an article on the “Eco-City” Masdar. “Eco” in this content is meant as “greenie” and reveals the subtle irony and disrespect towards the project – no matter whether it is a successful one. The objektive assessment does not seem to be the intention of this article anyway but rather the gloating about a “failed project” in the eyes of Western engineers. Written in the style at is it does not leave a chance to the reader to make up its own opinion.

Let me give you some examples: The article describes on the one hand, how rich the emirate Abu Dhabi is and desribes the “Masdar City” later as a “green disneyland” which is supposed to build to improve the country’s image. In plain words: “Look at Abu Dhabi, a country rich beyond our dreams not being capable to implement such a project despite of the wealth”.

Another example conspiring in the same way is the article “From Camel to Classics” adhering to the tenor that Oman might be a progressive state in the positive (in the commonly accepted or expected Western way) on the one hand. On the other hand the project of building an opera house in the Arabic World seems to be a little bit crazy and past the populations’ needs. Well, we are talking about the “Arabian Switzlerland” (quote!) here, folks!

The examples given above, apart from the creation of the “evil” other in the first instance, illustrate imply the truth hidden in the unconscious mind: the West still does not meet the Arab World at eye level.

I went to the cinema yesterday to watch Eastwoods latest Masterpiece “J. Edgar”. A very interesting and complex peace of art. The film that is supposed to show the personal side of the FBI-founder portraying Hoover (in the eye of the viewer) as a powerful man yet featuring little self-esteem, due to a lordly mother that “rather wants a dead than a gay son” (hinting at Hoover’s alleged homosexuality. Hoover reportedly found his outlet in the chase of communists and hostile foreigners in the first place and later in the figure of civil-rights activits, such as Martin Luther King. Does this description remind you of somebody who become president some decades later, supposedly a former alcoholic, who later invaded the Iraq (amongst others)? Just a little bit of “history repeating”?

For anybody who is interested in learning how the mass media creates collective knowledge the books “Dining with al-Qaeda” by Hugh Pope is a must.

Futher readings:

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Januar 22, 2012/ Kultur

Während der Vorbereitungen für meine Doktorarbeit über Diskurse und interkulturelle Bildung stieß ich einerseits auf die Methodik der ethnographischen Inhaltsanalyse und andererseits auf eine Forschungsdokumentation mit dem Titel „Peering Beneath the Veil: An Ethnographic Content Analysis of Islam as Portrayed on The 700 Club Following the September 11th Attacks“ by Eric Gormly.

Die Diskursanalyse ist ein Forschungsprogramm, um die Konstruktion von „Wirklichkeit“ und „kollektiven Wissensvorräten“ nachzuzeichnen. In der o.g. Studie analysierte Gormly über zwei Wochen kurz nach den Angriffen vom 11. September 2001 insgesamt neun Folgen des Fernsehsenders „The 700 Club“.

Im Anschluss an eine Literaturanalyse von religiösen Sendungen, die ausgestrahlt werden, um den Menschen moralische Unterstützung, Informationen, Unterhaltung und eine Alternative zu herkömmlichen Fernsehprogrammen, die als unmoralisch eingestuft werden, zu bieten, hat Gormly sich mit dem Programm des „The 700 Club“ als eine Hauptinformationsquelle und Leitlinie für Evangelikale auseinandergesetzt.

Aus Gormlys Befunden wird deutlich, dass Pat Robertson, der Begründer von „The 700 Club“, sich die damals vorherrschende negative Stimmung gegenüber Muslimen im Land zunutze gemach hat, um seine Nachrichten gezielt zu platzieren und den Islam und Muslime allgemein unter den militanten Islam, radikale Muslime und Terrorismus zu subsumieren. Darüber hinaus hat er die Chance ergriffen, unter seinen Zuschauern die Meinung zu verbreiten, dass der Islam nur als Bedrohung des Evangelikalen Glaubens begriffen werden kann.

Dies mag ein krasses Beispiel für die Konstruktion von öffentlicher Wirklichkeit und kollektivem Wissen sein. Aber, der Mechanismus, der soeben aufgezeigt wurde, wird in abgeschwächter Form täglich im öffentlichen Diskurs eingesetzt.

Lasst uns eine Blick auf ein anderes „harmloses“ Beispiel werfen: einen Artikel über die „Ökostadt“ Masdar. Der Begriff „Öko“ wird in diesem Kontext ironisch eingesetzt und zeigt den subtile nicht vorhandenen Respekt gegenüber dem Projekt – gleich, ob es erfolgreich sein wird oder nicht. Nicht eine objektive Berichterstattung scheint das Ziel des Artikels zu sein, sondern eher die Häme über ein gescheitertes Projekt in den Augen eines westlichen Ingenieurs. Der Artikel ist in einer Art geschrieben, die dem Leser kaum die Möglichkeit bietet, sich eine eigene Meinung über das Projekt zu bilden.

Lasst mich ein paar Beispiele geben: Der Artikel beschreibt einerseits, wie unglaublich reich Abu Dhabi sei. Andererseits wird das Projekt „Masdar City“ als „grünes Disneyland“ bezeichnet, dass nur aufgestellt wurde, um das Image des Landes zu verbessern. In anderen Worten: „Schau‘ dir Abu Dhabi an, ein Land reicher als du zu träumen vermagst, aber nicht in der Lage solch ein Projekt umzusetzen, trotz seines Wohlstands“.

Ein weiteres Beispiel, das in die gleiche Richtung geht, ist der Beitrag „Vom Kamel zur Klassik„, der dem Tenor folgt, dass der Oman wohl ein fortschrittliches Land im besten westlichen Sinne sei, aber der Bau eines Opernhauses in einem arabischen Land doch ein bisschen verrückt sei. Nun, wir reden hier ja auch über die „Arabisch Schweiz“ (Zitat), Leute!

Die aufgezeigten Beispiele, abgesehen von der Konstruktion des bösen „Fremden“ im ersten Beispiel, zeigen die Wahrheit, die oft im Unterbewusstsein verborgen ist: der Westen begegnet der Arabischen Welt immer noch nicht auf Augenhöhe.

Gestern war ich im Kino, um mir Eastwoods neuestes Meisterwerk „J. Edgar“ anzuschauen. Ein sehr interessanter und vielschichtiger Film. Der Film soll die Person hinter dem FBI-Direktor zeigen, einem mächtigen Mann mit wenig Selbstwertgefühl, ausgelöst auf eine herrische Mutter, die lieber „einen toten als homosexuellen Sohn“ möchte (in Anspielung an Hoovers vermutete homosexuelle Neigung). Hoover fand zunächst sein Ventil in der Jagd auf Kommunisten und feindliche Einwanderer; später in der Figur von Bürgerrechtlern, wie Martin Luther King. Kommt euch diese Charakterbeschreibung irgendwie bekannt vor? Und erinnert sie euch an jemanden, der einige Jahrzehnte in den Staaten Präsident wurde, ehemaliger Alkoholiker war und ebenfalls unter einer dominanten Mutter zu leiden hatte? Später fiel er (u.a.) im Irak ein. Handelt es sich nur um eine Wiederholung der Geschichte?

Allen, die sich dafür interessieren, wie die Massenmedien kollektives Wissen produzieren, dem sei das Buch „Dining with al-Qaeda“ von Hugh Pope empfohlen.

Weitere Berichte:

Share
Share this Post