Yearly Archives: 2010

“I love my Germans”

Christina/ December 22, 2010/ Culture

“I love my Germans” Qatar’s ruler Sheikh Hamad bin Chalifa Al Thani was quoted to have said on the phone when talking to the German architect Albert Speer right after he received the good news that Qatar will be home of the World Cup in 2022 (cf. Spiegel magazine 50/2010:136). The label “Made in Germany” has a good reputation in

Read More

Share

Home is, where my heart is …

Christina/ December 19, 2010/ Culture

“Alien is where human beings are being hurt and humiliated. Home is where human beings have friends, tongue and hope.” (Yüksel Pazarkaya) Maybe the meaning of the word “home” is most likely reflected if one does not terry the same. However, does the country of birth always necessarily equals home? If alien is, as the Turkish poet Pazarkaya describes it,

Read More

Share

If the Russians love their children too …

Christina/ November 24, 2010/ Ideas of philosophy

To tell the truth takes courage. Especially, if one does it before the public. All the more Yassin Musharbashs comment “Falsche Schablonen im Kopf” (false behaviour patterns in the head) from November 19th, 2010 on Spiegel Online made me happy. If terror comes to Germany right now, which will hopefully not happen, it is abstract for the time being, not

Read More

Share

Not to see the wood for the trees: the Mezquita of Córdoba

Christina/ November 15, 2010/ Culture

If you enter the Mezquita in Córdoba your are not in the wood but in the pillar forest. Big pillars with fitted arches and an alternating sequence of bricks and stones of red and beige colour are standing numerous and beautifully arranged in the cathedral. Amidst the former mosque of the 8th century stands a big chapel with screwed responsible

Read More

Share

Moorish world cultural heritage: the Alhambra

Christina/ November 14, 2010/ Culture

Andalusia or “Al Andalus” is a synonym for Spains moorish heritage. Especially the cities of Granada, Córdoba and Sevilla are material witness for this splendid times. But what does moorish heritage stand for and who were those moors anyway? The natives (griechisch: „mauros“=dunkel) of occidental white africa were called moors. Nowadays this term describes the population of North Africa which

Read More

Share

Back then it was Friedrich…

Christina/ October 24, 2010/ Ideas of philosophy

Back then it was the Jews. Today it is the Blacks there, here the students. Maybe tomorrow it will be the Whites, the Christians or the civil servants. I can remember that reading the book “Back then it was Friedrich” in school touched me deeply. It was for the first time that I consciously realized how quickly a single person

Read More

Share

It’s a different kettle of fish

Christina/ October 24, 2010/ Ideas of philosophy

“When in Rome do as the Romans do” that’s the recommendaton by a well-known proverb. Far away from the hustle and bustle I came across an edition of “The Times of India” during breakfast. This newspaper has two advantages: it can be read through fast and easily and it holds a lot of weired news for European minds: For example

Read More

Share

India once again!

Christina/ October 17, 2010/ The daily grind, Culture

India for the forth time! It is again the triad: Mumbai – Poona – Goa. Within two years a lot has changed in the street picture of Mumbai and Poona. A lot of things are under construction, there are new restaurants and nice dance clubs. However, the insider tip is still GOA and especially the hotel “Alila Diwa”, a genuine

Read More

Share

Sarrazin or Saracen?

Christina/ October 6, 2010/ Culture

It is obvious: the similarity between the name of a german who became infamous recently and the saracens, an arabic tribe which has already defied the cruisaders and which should have been converted to christianity at that time. Is somebody trying a similar attempt to the muslims in Europe? Honi soit qui mal y pense? It is remarkable though that

Read More

Share

Next Stop: Abu Dhabi

Christina/ October 6, 2010/ Culture

The caravan moves on, the topics remain the same. Whereas Dubai is still economizing its big brother Abu Dhabi is firing on all cylinders. Last year it was the Formular-One-Circuit on Yas Island, now it’s the completion of the new Sheikh-Zayed-Mosque which is called a “magnificient building of a majestic size and oriental beauty”, newspapers like “Neuen Züricher Zeitung” (NZZ)

Read More

Share

Jährliches Archiv: 2010

„I love my Germans“

Christina/ Dezember 22, 2010/ Kultur

„I love my Germans“ soll der katarische Herrscher Scheich Hamad bin Chalifa Al Thani am Telefon zum Frankfurter Architekten Albert Speer gesagt haben als er die Nachricht erhielt, dass Katar in 2022 die Fußball-WM austragen darf (vgl. Spiegel 50/2010:136). „Made in Germany“ hat auch in der arabischen Welt und besonders in der Golfregion, wo man sich die deutsche Ingenieurskunst leisten

Weiterlesen

Share

Home is, where my heart is …

Christina/ Dezember 19, 2010/ Kultur

„Fremde ist dort, wo der Mensch gekrängt und gedemütigt wird. Heimat ist dort, wo der Mensch Freunde, Sprache und Hoffnung hat.“ (Yüksel Pazarkaya) Über die Bedeutung des Wortes „Heimat“ denkt man vielleicht immer gerade dann nach, wenn man nicht in derselbigen weilt. Wobei, ist das Land der Geburt notwendigerweise auch immer die Heimat? Wenn die Fremde dort ist, wie der

Weiterlesen

Share

If the Russians love their children too …

Christina/ November 24, 2010/ Philosophisches

Wahrheiten auszusprechen erfordert Mut. Besonders, wenn dies öffentlich geschieht. Umso mehr hat mich Yassin Musharbashs Kommentar vom 19. November auf Spiegel Online „Falsche Schablonen im Kopf“ gefreut. Weil er nicht populistisch sondern differenzierend ist. Wenn der Terror jetzt nach Deutschland kommt, was hoffentlich nicht geschehen wird, so ist er zunächst einmal abstrakt, nicht greifbar, weil man sich das Unfassbare nicht

Weiterlesen

Share

Den Wald vor lauter Bäumen nicht sehen: die Mezquita von Córdoba

Christina/ November 15, 2010/ Kultur

Betritt man die Mezquita in Córdoba steht man nicht im Blätter- aber im Säulenwald. Große Säulen mit aufgesetzten Bögen und einer Wechselfolge aus Backsteinen und Steinen in roter und beiger Farbe stehen in sehr zahlreicher und in schöner Anordnung in der Kathedrale. Mitten in der ehemaligen Moschee aus dem 8. Jahrhundert befindet sich eine große Kapelle mit Kreuzträger und Chor:

Weiterlesen

Share

Maurisches Weltkulturerbe: die Alhambra

Christina/ November 14, 2010/ Kultur

Aber was bedeutet maurisches Erbe und wer waren diese Mauren überhaupt? Als Mauren (griechisch: „mauros“=dunkel) bezeichnet man die Urbevölkerung des westlichen Weißafrikas. Heutzutage gilt das Wort schlechthin für die nordafrikanische Bevölkerung, die sich im Wesentlichen aus berberischen Ureinwohnern und arabischen Einwanderern zusammensetzt. Reist man durch Andalusien, wie wir es mit dem Auto getan habe, wird eines schnell klar: Die Mauren

Weiterlesen

Share

Damals war es Friedrich…

Christina/ Oktober 24, 2010/ Philosophisches

Damals waren es die Juden. Heute sind es dort die Schwarzen, hier die Studenten. Morgen werden es vielleicht die Weißen, die Christen oder die Beamten sein. Ich kann mich noch daran erinnern, dass mich in der Schule die Lektüre des Buches „Damals war es Friedrich“ sehr berührt hat. Zum ersten Mal wurde mir bewusst, wie schnell es geschehen kann, dass

Weiterlesen

Share

Blick in fremde Blätter

Christina/ Oktober 24, 2010/ Philosophisches

„Andere Länder, andere Sitten“, so lautet ein bekanntes Sprichwort. Weitab von aller Hektik kam ich in Goa beim Frühstück in den Genuss einen Blick in die Zeitung „The Times of India“, Ausgabe Goa. Diese Zeitung hat zwei Vorteile: Sie kann in Kürze durchgelesen werden und sie birgt eine Menge für deutsche Augen kurioser Nachrichten: Zum Beispiel das hier: „Change of

Weiterlesen

Share

Schon wieder Indien!

Christina/ Oktober 17, 2010/ Alltagsgeschichten, Kultur

Indien, zum vierten Mal! Es ist mal wieder der Dreiklang: Mumbai – Poona – Goa. Innerhalb von zwei Jahren hat sich im Straßenbild von Mumbai und Poona einiges geändert, es wird viel gebaut, es gibt gute Restaurants und schöne Clubs. Der Geheimtipp bleibt aber GOA und hier besonders das Hotel „Alila Diwa“, eine wahre Erholungsoase, wo es an nichts fehlt!

Weiterlesen

Share

Sarrazin oder Sarazen?

Christina/ Oktober 6, 2010/ Kultur

Das liegt doch einfach auf der Hand oder besser auf der Zunge: Die Ähnlichkeit zwischen dem Namen eines Deutschen, who became infamous, wie der Engländer sagen würde und den Sarazenen, einem arabischen Volksstamm, der bereits den Kreuzrittern trotzte und wohl auch zu dieser Zeit – dem düsteren Mittelalter – bekehrt werden sollten. Versucht man Ähnliches mit dem Muslimen in Europa?

Weiterlesen

Share

Next stop: Abu Dhabi

Christina/ Oktober 6, 2010/ Kultur

Die Karawane zieht weiter, die Themen bleiben dieselben. Während in Dubai noch gespart wird, ist beim großen Bruder Abu Dhabi der Bauboom im vollen Gange. Im letzten Jahr war es die Formel-Eins-Strecke auf Yas Island, jetzt ist es die Fertigstellung der neuen Sheikh-Zayed-Moschee, die bezeichnet als „Prunkbau von majestätischer Grösse und orientalischer Schönheit“, Zeitungen wie der „Neuen Züricher Zeitung“ (NZZ)

Weiterlesen

Share