Christina/ October 24, 2010/ Ideas of philosophy

Back then it was the Jews. Today it is the Blacks there, here the students. Maybe tomorrow it will be the Whites, the Christians or the civil servants.

I can remember that reading the book “Back then it was Friedrich” in school touched me deeply. It was for the first time that I consciously realized how quickly a single person or a group can be excluded from the society. How easy it is to enrage people against “different-minded or different-acting” people and how blindly people follow diatribes of politicians. Examples for such maniac actions can be found in abundance within world history. Whether it is the attempted Holocaust of the “Drittes Reich”, the ethnic cleansing of the war in Jugoslavia or in Ruanda or the civil war in Lebanon. The list can be continued easily.

Don’t they say that one can learn from history? If that is true, then I wonder, where this process takes place in German society right now. There is increased talk about non-integratable migrants in the media and on political party conventions which can be broken down into one religious population group: muslims. What were again the words of our chancellor: “Multikulti has collapsed.” Is that really all that the christian party can do against decreasing votes? Is it only possible to gain back votes by stigmatization of a group which has hardly any chance to defend oneself as negative examples are exxagerating the amount of public reports in comparision to positive examples by far?

The development makes me increasingly reflective. Above all what lacks is a differentiated interpretation, a confession of own mistakes by the political management of the country and the courage not to put the blame only on the alleged underdogs. We live in a country where electricity supplier can achieve benefits of 24 billions Euro at the expense of the consumers (mind you: in the previous year it were “only” 5,9 billion Euros) and no politician bats an eyelid. But, if a colonel of the German armed forces commands evidentially wrong and thus kills human life that’s not even worth an apology? Are we are not talking about families then that are just torn apart, no matter if they are christian, hindu, jewish or muslims? Back then it was Friedrich … is it the Muslims today?

Further readings (German language):

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Oktober 24, 2010/ Philosophisches

Damals waren es die Juden. Heute sind es dort die Schwarzen, hier die Studenten. Morgen werden es vielleicht die Weißen, die Christen oder die Beamten sein.

Ich kann mich noch daran erinnern, dass mich in der Schule die Lektüre des Buches „Damals war es Friedrich“ sehr berührt hat. Zum ersten Mal wurde mir bewusst, wie schnell es geschehen kann, dass eine Einzelne oder eine Gruppe aus der Gesellschaft ausgeschlossen werden. Wie leicht es ist, Menschen gegen „Andersdenkende oder -handelnde“ aufzubringen und wie blind den Worten manchem Politikers gefolgt wird. Beispiele für diesen Wahnsinn finden sich in der Weltgeschichte reichlich. Ob es die versuchte Judenvernichtung im Dritten Reich ist, die ethnischen Säuberungen im Jugoslavien-Krieg oder in Ruanda oder der Bürgerkrieg im Libanon. Diese Liste ließe sich beliebig hier fortsetzen.

Heißt es nicht immer, dass man aus der Geschichte lernen sollte? Wenn dem so ist, dann frage ich mich, wo dieser Lernprozess dieser Tage in der deutschen Gesellschaft stattfindet. Vermehrt geht es inden den Medien und auf politischen Parteitagen gegen nicht integrierbare Zuwanderer, die sich zunehmend auf eine religiöse Bevölkerungsgruppe reduzieren lassen: Muslime. Wie formulierte es die Kanzlerin: „Multikulti ist gescheitert.“ Ist das wirklich alles, was die Union sinkenden Wählerzahlen entgegen zu setzen hat? Kann es nur über die Stigmatisierung einer Gruppe, die sich schlecht wehren kann, weil den Negativbeispielen sehr viel und den Positivbeispielen kein öffentlicher Raum zugestanden wird, gelingen, Stimmen zurück zu gewinnen?

Die Entwicklung stimmt mich zunehmend bedenklich. Vor allen Dingen fehlt es an Differenzierung in der Darstellung, am Eingeständnis der eigenen Fehler durch die politische Führung des Landes und den Mut, die Schuld nicht dem vermeintlich schwächeren zuzuschieben. Wir leben in einem Land, in dem Stromversorgungs-Kartelle auf Kosten der Konsumenten unbehelligt 24 Mrd. Euro Gewinn einstreichen können (wohlgemerkt: im Vorjahr waren es „nur“ 5,9 Mrd. Euro) und kein Politiker mit der Wimper zuckt. Wenn aber ein Oberst der Bundeswehr ein erwiesernermaßen falschen Befehl gibt und damit zahlreiche Menschenleben auslöscht, dann ist das nicht einmal eine Entschuldigung wert? Sind das nicht auch Familien, die einfach auseinandergerissen werden, egal, ob es Christen, Hindus, Juden oder Muslime sind? Damals war es Friedrich … sind es heute die Muslime?

Zum Weiterlesen:

Share
Share this Post