Christina/ November 14, 2010/ Culture

Andalusia or “Al Andalus” is a synonym for Spains moorish heritage. Especially the cities of Granada, Córdoba and Sevilla are material witness for this splendid times.

But what does moorish heritage stand for and who were those moors anyway? The natives (griechisch: „mauros“=dunkel) of occidental white africa were called moors. Nowadays this term describes the population of North Africa which basically composes Berber natives and arabic migrants.

If one travels through Andalusia like we did by car one thing becomes quickly obvious: The moors left clear and wonderful traces behind which leave people wondering behind still nowadays. One of the most impressive monuments of that time is truely the Alhambra of Granada. Without a doubt: This complex of palaces and gardens is not only for Granada but for the whole south of Spain THE attraction pole.

As always my pictures from the journey should argue for itself. However I am sure that everyone of you will be captured by the beauty of the complex as fast as I was! If you want to go more into details with the moorish heritage of Spain I have two recommendations as a further reading for you at the end of this article.

PS: The Alhambra and the Generalife belong to the UNESCO world heritage sites since 1984.

Further Readings (in German):

More pictures of my round trip through Andalusia can be found here.

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ November 14, 2010/ Kultur

Aber was bedeutet maurisches Erbe und wer waren diese Mauren überhaupt? Als Mauren (griechisch: „mauros“=dunkel) bezeichnet man die Urbevölkerung des westlichen Weißafrikas. Heutzutage gilt das Wort schlechthin für die nordafrikanische Bevölkerung, die sich im Wesentlichen aus berberischen Ureinwohnern und arabischen Einwanderern zusammensetzt.

Reist man durch Andalusien, wie wir es mit dem Auto getan habe, wird eines schnell klar: Die Mauren haben deutliche, wunderschöne Spuren hinterlassen, die die Menschen noch heute staunend zurücklassen. Eines der eindruckvollsten Monumente aus der Zeit des sevillianischen Kalifats ist sicherlich die Alhambra in Granada. Keine Frage: Diese Palastanlage überragt nicht nur Granada als Stadt, es ist DER Anziehungspunkt im Süden Spaniens.

Wie immer möchte ich meine Reisefotos für sich sprechen lassen. Aber ich bin mir sicher, dass Euch die Schönheit der Anlage genauso schnell gefangen nehmen wird, wie sie es bei mir getan hat! Wenn ich Euch näher für die maurische Geschichte in Spanien interessiert, habe ich auch unterhalb dieses Artikels noch zwei „Leseempfehlungen“ eingestellt.

PS: Die Alhambra und der Generalife gehören seit 1984 zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe.

Zum Weiterlesen:

Mehr Bilder von meiner Andalusien-Rundreise findet Ihr hier

Share
Share this Post