Christina/ March 31, 2011/ Culture

15 participants from 10 european countries are putting the rule to the test: playing the role of a turkish migrant on trial for six days! What happened? The integration experiment “the other side of the coin” is the answer.

All participants realize almost instantly that they are pretty fast at their wit’s end when being faced with exactly the same recquirements as their clients – all particiapants work in respective fields being responsible for the migrants’ fate – have to fulfill them every day. They learn what it feels like to be different, not able to communicate properly and just feel helpless. However, all participants should feel comparatively comfortably, eventually they live with nice families during the experiment, they have enough money and they do not have to worry about a threatening deportation.

After closing the experiment none of the participants seems to be the same person as before. One question still remains unanswered: How much did everybody really learn from the experiment and how much will be finally implemented in workaday life? According to the project description this workshop has been offered in 2010 by seven european countries and the collected experience has been presented to the European Commission. Was it really a coincidence that this documentation was shown on TV for the second time at a time when the debate on migration boils up again?

[youtube AnB4lzX2Trw]

Project description (German language)

The documentation on TV

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ März 31, 2011/ Kultur

15 Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen aus 10 europäischen Ländern machen die Probe auf Exempel: 6 Tage lang Türke auf Probe sein! Wie das? Das Integrations-Experiment „Die andere Seite der Medaille“ macht es möglich.

Schnell wird den Teilnehmern klar, dass sie genau an den Ansprüchen, die sie täglich selber an ihre Klientel stellen – alle Teilnehmer arbeiten an veranwortlicher Stelle mit oder für Migranten – fast verzweifeln. Sie stellen am eigenen Leib fest, was es bedeutet, sich fremd zu fühlen, sich nicht verständigen zu können, einfach hilflos zu sein. Dabei dürfte es allen Teilnehmern mit der Situation noch vergleichsweise sehr gut gehen, schließlich wohnen sie während des Experiments in netten Familien, haben genug Geld und müssen sie keine Sorge um eine drohende Abschiebung zu machen.

Nach Abschluss des Experiments scheint keiner der Teilnehmer mehr derselbe zu sein, wie vorher. Es bleibt aber die Frage: Wieviel hat jeder wirklich aus dem Experiment gelernt und wieviel wird davon im Alltag umgesetzt werden können? Laut Projektbeschreibung wurde dieser Workshop in 2010 von Partnern in sieben europäischen Ländern angeboten und die gesammelten Erfahrungen der EU-Kommission vorgelegt. Ist es Zufall, dass diese Dokumentation zu einer Zeit, zu der die Migrationsdebatte eine neue Dynamik erreicht hat, als Wiederholung im Fernsehen gezeigt wird?

[youtube AnB4lzX2Trw]

Beschreibung des Experiments

Die Weltweit-Reportage

Share
Share this Post