Christina/ June 18, 2011/ Culture

La Baguette Magique

If the French invented love and made Paris its capital than it seems only logical that even bread over there has an erotic vibrancy. This is what I just discovered during my last stay in Paris, Pentecost 2011.

L’Afrique est en Paris

No doubt – Paris is an eclectic city where the heritage of colonial era is still alive. The present head of state managed to ban the Burqa from the cityscape. Fortunately, he did not try the same with the colourful dresses worn by African immigrants at the Montmartre. When you leave the Métro at „Chateau Rouge“ you are already in the middle of the action. Surrounded by a flock of merchands (do not panic, nobody is going to drag you), a milling crowd and high spirits you are in the middle of Paris on the one hand, on the other hand you feel like being in the heart of Africa. Wigs, hair extensions and pedicure symbolize the big business at Chateau Rouge.

And that is exactly where we stayed: in a 15 sq „flat“, house no. 19 of Rue Feutrier, next to the former domicile of Rosa Luxemburg. Although the „1-room-flat“ was a little bit cramped, still it offered everything needed for a couple of days. And most of all it was only a stone’s throw away from legendary Sacré Coeur and nearby a few nice authentic cafés. That is all you need.

discovery tour: from Montamartre to the Tour Eifel

Unfortunately, Paris is like many other metropolises infested with tourists at the main sights. Well, why not trying alternative routs for a change? Starting from our neighbourhood we undertook diverse walks during our four-days-sojourn. We started off with the Marais quarter on the first day. Via Place de la République to the Place des Vosges. Marais is really nice with its narrow lanes, small boutiques and unfortunately in the meantime a whole bunch of tourists. However, a visit to the Hôtel de Sully in that area is still worth while. In the evening we climbed the mountain of Sacré Coeur just a jump away from our flat. From there we strolled to Place Clichy. Via Boulevard de Courselles (pay attention to the Parc de Monceau we walked to „Etoile“ and then along Champs Elysées. Regrettably that former Boulevard mutated to a „Pizzaland“ in the meantime. A forgettable “thing of the past”, you better try Avenue Montaigne! The way back lead us from Tour Eifel to the Metro station of „Bir Hakim“ then back to „Chateau Rouge“.

Off the beaten track through the city: Bancs public

Sunday morning was defined by the „Bancs public“ (park bench). The walk was recommended to us by a Frenchwomen and runs through rather fameless parts of the city. It starts at the metro station „Vaugirard“ and ends at „Parc Georges Brassens“, named after a French singer. A facebook page is dedicated to the park. It is a nice destination for a lazy Sunday morning! We undertook another promenade to and through the Jardin du Luxembourg in the afternoon. A 10-strong band was playing live Swing when we entered the park. The evening ended with a cozy final round at the Cafe Chambon on Rue Oberkampf.

Rich and beautiful

On our last day in Paris we visited the exposition „L’Art de l’automobile“ at the famous Louvre. The exhibition which displays cars of the private collection of the American designer Ralph Lauren is located at the wing „Les Arts décoratifs“. Too bad that not pictures were allowed to be taken. After four wonderful still exhausting days we left Paris and took the plane back to Germany.

To the Paris picture gallery

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Juni 18, 2011/ Kultur

La Baguette Magique

Wenn der Franzose die Liebe erfunden hat und Paris die Stadt der Liebe ist, dann ist es wohl nur logisch, dass selbst das Brot beim Bäcker eine erotische Ausstrahlung besitzt. So gesehen bei meinem letzten Paris-Besuch über Pfingsten 2011.

L’Afrique est en Paris

Keine Frage – Paris ist eine sehr vielseitige Stadt, in der das alte Kolonialerbe gelebt wird. Auch wenn es der derzeitige Staatschef geschafft hat, die Burka aus dem Stadtbild zu vertreiben. Bei den bunten Gewändern der Afrikanerinnen am Montmartre hat er das zum Glück nicht geschafft. Wenn man die Station Metropolitan „Chateau Rouge“ verlässt ist man sogleich mitten im Geschehen. Umringt von einer Händlerschar (keine Sorge, niemand will einem etwas verkaufen), einem irren Gewusel und jeder Menge guter Laune ist man einerseits mitten in Paris, glaubt sich aber andererseits mitten in Afrika. Perücken, Haarverlängerungen und Pediküre sind das große Geschäft am Chateau Rouge.

Und genau dort haben wir gewohnt: In einer 15 qm2 „Wohnung“ im Haus Nr. 19 der Rue Feutrier, direkt neben der ehemaligen Wohnstätte von Rosa Luxemburg. Die „1-Zimmer-Wohnung“ war zwar etwas beengt, gab aber alles her, was man so für ein paar Tage braucht. Und vor allen Dingen, war sie nur 2 Minuten von der Sacré Coeur entfernt und hatte ein paar nette, authentische Cafés in der Nähe (http://www.vacances-location.net/vermietung-ferienwohnung/ferienwohnung-studio-paris-18e-arrondissement,126099). Was will man mehr?

Entdeckungstour: Vom Montamartre zum Tour Eifel

Paris ist leider, wie viele Metropolen, an den bekanntesten Stellen überlaufen. Also, warum nicht einmal Ecken der Stadt erkunden, wo nicht jeder Tourist hinkommt? Ausgehend von unserem Quartier im Montmartre haben wir an vier Tagen ganz unterschiedliche Spaziergänge (es waren wohl eher Märsche) unternommen. Am ersten Tag ging es in das Marais-Viertel. Über den Place de la République zum Place des Vosges. Das Viertel ist sehr schön mit seinen engen Gassen, kleinen Boutiquen und leider inzwischen jeder Menge Touristen. Trotzdem lohnt sich z.B der Besuch des Hôtel de Sully. Am Abend ging es dann rauf zur Sacré Coeur, von unserer Wohnung nur ein Katzensprung. Von dort unternahmen wir noch einen Spaziergang zum Place Clichy. Über den Boulevard de Courselles (den Parc de Monceau beachten) ging es zum „Etoile“ und von dort aus über die Champs Elysées. Leider ist diese ehemalige Prachtstrasse inzwischen zum „Pizzaland“ mutiert, kann man also getrost links liegen lassen – lieber die Avenue Montaigne nehmen! Der Heimweg ging dann über den Tour Eifel bis zur Metro-Station „Bir Hakim“ und von dort aus zurück zum „Chateau Rouge“.

Auf unentdeckten Pfaden durch die Stadt: Bancs public

Der Sonntag stand zunächst im Zeichen der „Bancs public“ (Parkbank). Der Spaziergang wurde uns von einer Französin empfohlen und führt durch unbekannte Seiten der Stadt. Er beginnt an der Metro-Station „Vaugirard“ und endet am „Parc Georges Brassens“, dessen Namensgeber ein französischer Sänger ist. Der Park hat sogar eine Seite auf Facebook. Ein schönes Ausflugsziel für einen faulen Sonntag morgen! Einen Spaziergang zu und durch einen weiteren schönen Park haben wir uns am Nachmittag gegönnt: dem Jardin du Luxembourg. Dort spielte gerade eine 10-köpfige-Band Live-Swing. Zum Ausklang des Abends ging es in das Cafe Chambon in der Rue Oberkampf.

Reich und schön

Am letzten Tag in Paris ging es noch zur Ausstellung „L’Art de l’automobile“ in den Louvre. Die Ausstellung, die Stücke aus der Privatsammlung des amerikanischen Designers Ralph Lauren zeigt, befindet sich in dem Trakt „Les Arts décoratifs“. Leider waren keine Fotos erlaubt. Nach vier schönen aber auch anstrengenden Tagen ging es zurück nach Deutschland.

Noch mehr Bilder aus Paris findet Ihr hier

Share
Share this Post