Christina/ August 26, 2018/ Categories, Culture

I would not call myself an art connoisseur that is why I can only judge this form of expression out of my gut feeling. Last Friday Birte Henning opened up her art exhibition “at the top”. From the advance notice of the private view I understood that the event was all about the upcoming full moon and Birte wanted to show us the sky therefore. That sounded good to me. “Let’s have a joint look at the top”, they offered. Additionally, little sandwiches and (soft) drinks should be passed, exactly the right thing for a relaxed Friday evening – that was the plan.

We are thus looking forward to some nice, meaningful pictures tackling the full moon and what we see is, well, nothing than grey sky and some clouds. Moreover, the pictures are that small that even eagle eyes might have problems to recognize anything. We are looking at each other puzzled and then have a look around at the other guests. Hm, is it that we are the only ones who cannot understand the meaning of the pictures? It strikes me however, that nobody really seems to care about the pictures except us.

The audience peers at the kinesiological buffet and tastes it. I decide that I need something decent on my plate. My stomach is rumbling and I doubt that some piece of cucumber with cream cheese can do something about it. Sitting on a wooden bench and drinking water we are pondering where to go when an old lady approaches us. She distributes flyer. Flyer announcing musicians that alternatively play the piano or the violin and set Stravinsky, Dvořák and other famous composers to music. She wants to distribute 6.000 flyers altogether. We are amazed and pocket one of the flyers.

The evening ends in a well-known restaurant-pub having a loud pack of guys sitting next to us who are either talking about divorces within their circle of friends or try to impress each other with their occupational adventures abroad working for a big car company.

Well, but what should have been seen “at the top” the day before we saw on Saturday when the almost full moon was in the sky. Maybe we got by better with opening up of the “fatherland”-exhibition – but that is another story.

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ August 26, 2018/ Kategorien, Kultur

Ich bin keine Kunstkennerin, vermutlich kann ich deshalb diese Form des Ausdrucks auch nur „aus meinem Bauchgefühl“ heraus beurteilen. Am letzten Freitag eröffnete Birte Henning ihre Ausstellung „oben“. Ich hatte es aus der Vorankündigung zur Vernissage so verstanden, dass es irgendwie um den nahenden Vollmond gehen sollte und Birte uns den Himmel zeigen wollte. Das klang erstmal gut. „Schauen wir gemeinsam nach oben„, hieß es da. Nebenbei sollten „Schnittchen“ und Getränke gereicht werden, also genau das Richtige für einen entspannten Freitagabend – so der Plan.

Wir freuen uns also auf eine paar schöne, aussagekräftige Fotos zum Thema Vollmond und sehen, nun ja, eigentlich nichts außer grauen Himmel und ein paar Wolken. Zumal sind die Bilder so klein, dass diese selbst für die schärfsten Adleraugen eine Herausforderung sein sollten. Wir gucken uns zunächst etwas verdutzt an und um. Hm, sind wir die einzigen, die nicht so ganz verstehen, wo hier die Kunst sein soll? Es fällt zumindest auf, dass sich außer uns eigentlich keiner so richtig für die Bilder zu interessieren scheint.

Das Publikum nimmt das kinesiologische Buffet in Augenschein und probiert. Ich entscheide für mich, dass ich was „Richtiges“ zu essen brauche. Mir knurrt der Magen, da wird ein Gurkenschnittchen mit Frischkäse nicht viel ausrichten können. Bei Kasperlesekt überlegen wir gerade noch, wie der Abend weitergehen könnte, als uns draußen auf der Holzbank vor dem Torhaus eine ältere Damen anspricht. Sie verteilt Flyer. Flyer mit Musikkünstlern, die wahlweise Klavier oder Geige und Stücke von Stravinsky, Dvořák und ähnlichen Größen spielen. 6.000 Flyer will sie ingesamt verteilen. Wir staunen und stecken einen der gefalteten Zettel ein.

Der Abend endet dann in einer altbewährten Restaurant-Kneipe mit lautstarker VW-Herrenrunde nebendran, die wahlweise von Ehescheidungen im Freundeskreis oder ihren beruflichen Abenteuern im Namen eines großen Autobauers in diversen Ländern berichten. Aber, was es jetzt „oben“ zusehen gibt, haben wir erst gestern Nacht verstanden als der fast vollständige Vollmond am Himmel stand. Vielleicht wären wir mit der Eröffnung der „Vaterland„-Ausstellung besser zurecht gekommen – aber das ist eine andere Geschichte.

Popup-Ausstellung


Vernissage

Share
Share this Post