Christina/ January 6, 2011/ Culture

Al-Ain is nothing but a typical dozy oasis. After all it is the second biggest city within the emirat of Abu Dhabi as well as the birth place of the acting ruler Sheikh Khalifa. Our arrival in the city was initially affected by finding the camel market which is scheduled to take place once in a week on friday. Despite a detailed journey description and a small area map in our travelling guide we could not find it and nobody seems to know anything about it. After more than an hour odyssey across the city we could manage to get there.

In the afternoon we decided on a visit of the local zoo. The zoo is supposingly the biggest one in the Middle Eastern Region and has a co-operation with San Diego Zoo. The facility enjoys a good reputation – we want to see it for ourselves.

To find a suitable parking space on the site is not any easy task. That is partly due to the fact that Arabs do not like to walk too much to reach their destination. On the other part it was friday, i.e. arabic weekend, therefore families like to use the site for a big barbecue.

The park is in fact in good shape and there is plenty to see. I wonder, however (that also applies to zoo’s in other countries) whether big animals such as wild cats that need a lot of outdoor exercise feel happy in such a small enclosure. Telling from their body language I guess no. This consideration spoilt our experience a little bit, which can be over all described as a positive one. ‘Cause, where else can you watch white lions on brown desert sand?

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Januar 6, 2011/ Kultur

Al-Ain ist alles andere als das typische verschlafene Oasenstädtchen. Immerhin ist sie die zweitgrößte Stadt im Emirat Abu Dhabi und dazu noch der Geburtsort des amtierenden Herrschers Sheikh Khalifa. Unsere Ankunft in der Stadt war zunächst davon geprägt den einmal wöchentlich stattfindenden Kamelmarkt zu finden, bevor er schließt. Trotz guter Beschreibung im Reiseführer und einer kleinen Karte war zunächst nichts zu machen. Nach mehr als einer Stunde Irrfahrt war es uns dann aber noch gelungen.

Am Nachmittag wollten wir noch den Zoo der Stadt. Dieser ist angeblich der größte des Mittleren Ostens und kooperiert mit seinem Pendant in San Diego. Der Zoo genießt einen guten Ruf, wir wollen uns selbst überzeugen.

Als wir auf dem Zoogelände eintreffen ist es zunächst einmal nicht einfach einen Parkplatz zu bekommen. Das liegt zum einen daran, dass der Araber keine weiteren Fusswege zu seinem Zielort mag und zum anderen daran, dass Freitag ist – also arabisches Wochenende – und das Gelände gerne für ein Familien-Barbecue genutzt wird.

Die Anlage ist tatsächlich gut in Schuss, es gibt viel zu sehen. Ich frage mich allerdings zunehmend (das gilt auch für Zoo-Gelände in anderen Ländern), ob sich große Tiere, die viel Bewegung brauchen, wie Wildkatzen, auf einem überschaubaren Gehege wirklich wohl fühlen. Ihre Körpersprache sagt mir etwas Anderes. Diese Überlegung trübt das Besuchserlebnis ein wenig, das insgesamt als positiv beschrieben werden kann. Denn, wo kann man schon weiße Löwen im braunen Wüstensand sehen?

Share
Share this Post