Christina/ July 21, 2019/ Culture

Thinking of South Poland and of cities worth visiting you can’t get past Krakow, of course not. This is also reflected in the annual tourist figures. And right: Krakow is outstanding with wonderful buildings, a lively cultural scene and very good food. Hence, perfect conditions in order to attract many people.

Another attractive landmark is the city of Wroclaw. The city is located quite close to the German border and has a lot to offer. Wroclaw was “Cultural Capital of Europe” in 2016. Its pivotal point is the so called Rynek, the central market place with a beautiful town hall and private town-houses in baroque style. We reach the city by train and notice to our surprise that the railway station with its tudor-gothic style is already a place of interest. More things worth seeing are the “Salt market”, located close to the Rynek, the Jewish Quarter, which is meanwhile situated within a trendy neighbourhood with hip restaurants and bars. Also the Dominsel (“cathedral island”) is worth visiting, hosting the treasuries of the catholic church. Even though it opens up the question whoever paid for all that luxury and gaudiness.

On the way from Wroclaw to the “Riesengebirge” (Giant Moutains) a stop at Jelenia Gora is recommendable. The market place with it restaurants and bars is quite lively in the evening, everybody is having a good times sitting outside, enjoying some food and of course a (or two) cold beer. Jelenia Gora is moreover a very good starting point to visit the “Hirschberger Tal” (Hirschberger Valley). My suggestion is a round trip among the palaces down there – anybody who is acquainted with the castles of the Loire will love the Hirschberger Valley. Plus: Most of the palaces are hotels by now.

Between Wroclaw and the Riesengebirge (Giant Mountains) a detour to Gleiwitz (Gliwize) is quite nice. As before it is once again the Rynek that’s worth visiting. It is not as magnificent or big as the one in Krakow, however, the “Grand Café” right on the market place might still be an insider’s tip: nice interior, very good homemade cakes and coffee.
Within the Carpathian Mountains I recommend to visit Sanok, not because of the city centre, but because of the Open-Air-Museum, called Skansen. Anybody who is interested in the country’s history and its people will come across a very interesting and well-arranged museum. My tip: Anybody who is craving for dark bread during his holidays should buy one of the fresh-baked sourdough bread at Skansen – delicious.

We were surprised by the cities of Rzeszów and Kielce. Anybody who likes natural, less touristic and still cultural and culinary interesting places, I recommend both spots warmly to you. It is in these cities where you can get to know unbiased Polish life. At Kielce, the national museum, a former Benedictine cloister, is unique.

One last stop on our way back to Wraclaw is Oppeln (Opole). In our opinion, Oppeln is not a must-see. It has a nice Rynek as well as some nice houses though; however the number of places of interest is rather unexceptional.

Share
Share this Post

Christina/ Juli 21, 2019/ Kultur

Denkt man an den Süden Polens und an besuchenswerte Städte, klar, dann denkt man als erstes an Krakau. Zu Recht, natürlich. Das spiegelt sich auch in den hohen Touristenzahlen in der Stadt wieder. Und richtig: Krakau hat viel zu bieten, tolle Sehenswürdigkeiten, ein lebendiges Kulturleben und gutes Essen. Beste Voraussetzungen also, um viele Menschen anzulocken. Aber nicht nur Krakau ist ein Besuch wert, wie ich hier zeigen werde.

Breslau

Ein weiteres, lohnenswertes Ziel ist zum Beispiel Breslau. Die Stadt liegt nicht so weit von der deutschen Grenze entfernt und hat (als Studentenstadt) einiges zu bieten. Breslau, auf polnisch Wroclaw, war in 2016 Europas Kulturhauptstadt. Dreh- und Angelpunkt des touristischen Interesses ist der Ring, der Rynek, mit seinem wunderschönen Rathaus und Bürgerhäusern aus dem Barock. Wir erreichen die Stadt mit dem Zug und stellen fest, dass bereits das Bahnhofsgebäude im tudor-gotischen Stil, sehenswert ist. Weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten sind der Salzmarkt, unweit des Rynek, das jüdische Viertel, das sich nunmehr inmitten eines hippen Szeneviertels befindet und trendige Lokale zu bieten hat. Auch die Dominsel, mit ihren Schätzen der katholischen Kirche, lohnt einen Besuch. Auch wenn man sich fragt, wer wohl diesen ganz Pomp bezahlt (hat).

Das Riesengebirge

Auf dem Weg von Breslau in das Riesengebirge lohnt sich die Besichtigung von Jelenia Gora (Hirschberg). Abends wird es auf dem Marktplatz sehr lebendig, alle sitzen draußen und genießen (wenn es so ist) das schöne Wetter bei einem guten Essen und einem kühlen Bier. Jelenia Gora ist auch ein guter Ausgangspunkt für einen Ausflug in das Hirschberger Tal. Eine absolute Empfehlung. Wer die Schlösser an der Loire kennt, wird das Hirschberger Tal lieben.

Zwischen Breslau und Krakau lohnt sich ein Abstecher nach Gleiwitz (Gliwize). Wie immer ist es auch hier der Rynek (Marktplatz), der den Besuch lohnt. Er ist nicht besonders prächtig oder groß, aber das „Grand Café“ am Marktplatz ist meine Empfehlung: tolles Interieur, sehr guter Kuchen und Kaffee.

Die Waldkarpaten

In den Waldkarpaten empfehle ich den Besuch von Sanok, nicht wegen der Stadt, sondern wegen des Freilichtmuseums Skansen. Wer sich für die Geschichte des Landes und die unterschiedlichen Bevölkerungsgruppen interessiert, findet hier ein sehr gut gemachtes und interessantes Museum. Mein Tipp: Wer in Polen gutes Körnerbrot vermisst, sollte sich in Skansen ein frischgebackenes Sauerteigbrot kaufen – köstlich.

Eine Überraschung waren für uns die Städte Rzeszów und Kielce. Wer es ursprünglich, weniger touristisch und dennoch kulturell und kulinarisch interessant mag, dem lege ich beide Orte ans Herz, hier kann man – natürlich mit Abstrichen – das wirkliche polnische Leben kennenlernen. In Kielce ist das Nationalmuseum, ein ehemaliges Benediktinerkloster, eine wirklich Überraschung.

Eine letzte Station auf dem Weg zurück nach Breslau ist Oppeln, polnisch Opole. Unserer Meinung nach, muss man die Stadt nicht unbedingt gesehen haben. Sicherlich verfügt auch sie über einen netten Marktplatz und ein paar schöne Gebäude. Die Sehenswürdigkeiten sind jedoch SEHR überschaubar.

Share
Share this Post